Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 28, 2023 at 6:34 comment added Robin Betts Ahh.. Okydoky. Thanks! Not generally a thing for me, because I tend to lift the pasta, slightly undercooked, straight into the sauce pan, to finish cooking there. That also means I can spoon out a bit of pasta-water if the sauce needs it, and can use the simmering water pot as a very gentle heat-source if I need it, especially for a carbonara. (IMO 'not measuring' is the key to fluent cooking.. unless you're a pâtissier :D )
Aug 28, 2023 at 2:26 comment added Zoë Sparks @RobinBetts I do both! I think her motivation is twofold: pasta can stick very rapidly once drained, but also she wants to ensure that fat (and not water) coats and even permeates the pasta thoroughly as soon as it's out of the water. This is so the sauce will adhere to the pasta more effectively, which I think is also the main benefit of finishing it in the sauce. You don't need to use much fat—she recommends a quarter of what went into the sauce. (Most of her recipes use 4 tblsps. of fat / lb. of pasta so that's where my 1 tblsp. came from. I don't usually measure, though, being honest.)
Aug 27, 2023 at 7:50 comment added Robin Betts With a few important exceptions. Italian pasta dishes are finished over heat in the sauce, in the sauce's pan.. so I find the Hazan's general recommendation to dress pasta with butter or oil a bit puzzling.
Aug 16, 2023 at 19:39 comment added Jason P Sallinger Thank you. Good intel. I do tend towards these numbers, including tossing with oil.
S Aug 15, 2023 at 23:46 review First answers
Aug 16, 2023 at 21:18
S Aug 15, 2023 at 23:46 history answered Zoë Sparks CC BY-SA 4.0