Skip to main content
edited body; edited tags
Source Link

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two,two; I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it was too far gone.

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two, I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it was too far gone.

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two; I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it was too far gone.

missing word
Source Link
Jason P Sallinger
  • 2.4k
  • 4
  • 32
  • 55

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two, I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it was too far gone.

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two, I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it too far gone.

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two, I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it was too far gone.

Tweeted twitter.com/StackCooking/status/1402505780897751041
Became Hot Network Question
clarification
Source Link
Jason P Sallinger
  • 2.4k
  • 4
  • 32
  • 55

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two, I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it too far gone.

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two, I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

A few months ago I had a gallon of milk in the back of the fridge that stayed fresh for over a month - maybe even two, I lost track.

Our house is only me and my wife. We don't drink milk often. I use it more for recipes, and maybe an occasional iced coffee. Since I couldn't repeat this feat I have gone to half-gallons.

What I noticed about this gallon in particular is that its plastic container was more opaque than what we normally had been getting. Previously I was getting the supermarket brand with the semi-opaque plastic container. I had gotten this one, white, 100% opaque at another store.

I also thought maybe it had something to do with it being in the back of the fridge. Also, being packed in by other fridge mates. But this is something I have always tried to do.

Are there steps to try to get milk to last this long? Especially since I don't use it that often.

Further Clarification:

There seems to be some question about how spoilage was determined.

I have always and forever smelled my liquid dairy before using. I stand by my nose to let me know when such a product has gone too far. In some cases I have chosen to go a day or two beyond the onset of spoilage. This onset can be detected by a sweet-sour smell.

In the instance of this gallon I have posed above, there was no such indication in smelling the milk for at least a month beyond the Best By date. Of that I am sure. There was a period when I hadn't used it. After which I smelled it and it became obvious it too far gone.

Notice added Needs detailed answers by rumtscho
Source Link
Jason P Sallinger
  • 2.4k
  • 4
  • 32
  • 55
Loading