Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 12, 2020 at 22:46 comment added SnakeDoc @Joe Fair enough, I didn't see you were referring to post-thawing.
Nov 12, 2020 at 22:41 comment added Joe @SnakeDoc : I wasn't talking about things in the freezer. I'm talking about things that have been in the freezer and then thawed, as the main question was about. Water isn't available if it's locked up in ice. And I personally take a lot of food risks, but that doesn't mean I recommend other people take risks.
Nov 12, 2020 at 22:27 comment added SnakeDoc @blankip lol, living life on the edge I guess? Don't get me wrong, there are definitely low-quality frozen meals. These days though, with the average consumer having a heightened idea of nutrition and conscious of what they are eating - there's a lot more higher quality frozen meals available vs. even 5 years ago. They do cost more, but are more akin to real unfinished food - frozen before the final step of cooking. Amy's, Evol, etc.
Nov 12, 2020 at 22:24 comment added blankip @SnakeDoc - yea maybe but I have personally left frozen dinners in the fridge by accident, find them in the back after weeks, throw them in the microwave... noticed no difference. Yea I'm a badass.
Nov 12, 2020 at 22:22 comment added SnakeDoc @blankip That's untrue of a lot of frozen meals. The freezing itself is the preservative in many cases.
Nov 12, 2020 at 22:21 comment added SnakeDoc @Joe In all my years, I have yet to find a moldy, frozen object in my freezer - even ones from the way way back of the freezer which have been there before time existed for all I know.
Nov 12, 2020 at 22:21 comment added blankip It is a fine answer but the truth is he could probably put them in a freezer bag and keep them in the fridge for a month and be fine. These things have so many preservatives that they go bad slightly faster than honey.
Nov 12, 2020 at 13:37 comment added Joe @Michael : it might. It changes the availability of water, as it's now outside cell walls, giving places for mold and bacteria to grow. Although frozen dinners would be sent through a blast chiller for quick freezing, so it's possible that there's not as much cellular damage.
Nov 12, 2020 at 13:31 comment added Michael @LaurentS.: The ice crystals destroy cell walls which makes food more soggy. Notice how bananas and other fruit loose all firmness once they’ve been frozen. I don’t think it increases the growth of harmful bacteria or mold.
Nov 12, 2020 at 8:42 comment added Laurent S. If I'm not mistaken, a food that was previously frozen degrades even faster than the same food that hasn't been frozen.
Nov 11, 2020 at 18:48 history answered Joe CC BY-SA 4.0