Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 11, 2018 at 2:18 comment added got trolled too much this week I mostly agree with what you wrote. The psych-specific content of the question was low. The reason why I chose to answer it rather than deferring to stats.stackexchange.com (where I'm sure a similar question was answered at some point) is that the question fairly astutely observed that purely correlational (i.e. observational) studies are often found in psychology... and in fact is one of the reasons (but not only one) for the "replication crisis". Alas I forgot to get to this in my answer.
Jun 7, 2018 at 12:22 comment added AliceD Mod @ReverentLapwing - First and foremost, I would encourage you to search CrossValidated first whether a similar question has been asked before. As of now, your post is upvoted and answered here on our site, so I am reluctant to migrate it.
Jun 7, 2018 at 12:11 comment added Reverent Lapwing I had the same thoughts, but decided that since the question relates to a problem specific to psychological studies, it's a good fit here. On the second though, as you made me realize, those are the same challenges researchers face in, for example, study of economics or politics. What should I do, if I were to move the question to CrossValidated? I feel I should redact the question beforehand to make it more broad rather than specifically asking about psychology (especially the initial sentence "Psychology is unique among other medical sciences...", which is demonstrably untrue).
Jun 7, 2018 at 11:47 history edited AliceDMod CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 71 characters in body
Jun 7, 2018 at 11:42 history edited AliceDMod CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 71 characters in body
Jun 7, 2018 at 11:36 history answered AliceDMod CC BY-SA 4.0