Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 24, 2017 at 16:42 comment added Arnon Weinberg Mod Thanks @StevenJeuris for helping to get this question reopened. I'm going in now and flagging comments for removal as non-constructive/obsolete - hopefully they can be cleaned up so the discussion can stay on topic. I learned something new from this thread: I naturally affiliated homophobia with religion, but I am quite surprised to see how many people use evolution to support their view. However, the status of a condition as a mental disorder is not determined by its evolutionary role, so all these comments should just be removed.
Jun 23, 2017 at 10:53 comment added Steven Jeuris Mod That said, I suppose the current phrasing is a nice compromise between the two opposing views.
Jun 23, 2017 at 10:52 comment added Steven Jeuris Mod @RobinKramer The only downside is it does not reflect the OP's original question fully (which is why I left it unedited on purpose, having SEO in mind): a misunderstanding or own interpretation of a 'mental disorder'. The OP is most definitely not alone in this, which is why it likely attracted that many visits in just a few days. The answers go a long way to clarifying to anyone holding the belief it is a mental disorder that it is not. This is exactly the type of content we want to contribute in order to 'make the internet a better place'.
Jun 23, 2017 at 9:26 history edited Steven JeurisMod CC BY-SA 3.0
added 2 characters in body
Jun 23, 2017 at 6:43 comment added Robin Kramer-ten Have Thank you for the edit of the question. It is indeed much better (although the "I've heard somewhere"-arguments still shows a lack of research from the OP, but that is not something you can do anything about). @AliceD I can understand you feel that way about the question title. Steven's alternative phrasing of the question is much better and neutral. I will edit the title and vote to re-open. Whatever happens next is up to you (i.e. the community)
Jun 22, 2017 at 21:05 comment added AliceD Mod Hi Steven many thanks for jumping in and please no sorries. We're all here for fun in our spare time right. One way or another I'm happy you caught up on this, as I'm probably going to pull away from this matter. Anyway, imo, the question title is highly offensive, for a starters. It basically calls gay people mentally ill. Honestly, I just don't understand people don't see that. But it may be me. I have gay friends and all and if I would dare to draw their attention to this question... erm. No thank you.
Jun 22, 2017 at 20:28 comment added Steven Jeuris Mod @AliceD I understand you spent a lot of time on this. Sorry I was not reachable at the time. I tried editing the question now. Is this better?
Jun 22, 2017 at 19:15 comment added AliceD Mod And this question invited hate posts to appear too. The current gay post is just the smoldering residue of a lot more nasty material that appeared on the site, not to mention the heated comment strings that needed work (and received an answer too for heaven sake!). If such stuff is allowed here, other mods should step in more quickly imo. I wasn't able to reach you guys.
Jun 22, 2017 at 19:14 comment added AliceD Mod By the way, I tried locking it but the timer is just 60 min.
Jun 22, 2017 at 19:12 comment added AliceD Mod I am not promoting to silence scientific inquiry. I am promoting to get rid of offensive posts. My spouse (anthropologist and knee deep in this kind of stuff) was horrified by the question wording. I can live with keeping it, but then it needs drastic editing. And honestly, I have invested so much time in this question that the only proper thing to me is get rid of it by deletion. No question should scare people away and eat so much of moderator time. I'd still opt for deletion as I am incapable of re-wording a question like that. And I've been breaking my head on it, honestly.
Jun 22, 2017 at 15:10 history answered Steven JeurisMod CC BY-SA 3.0