Skip to main content
edited tags
Link
A.K.
  • 12.6k
  • 7
  • 45
  • 95
Tweeted twitter.com/StackChemistry/status/1003867112551657472

I'm a writer. I have a scenario in which a sizable amount of gold needs to be rendered unable to be usedunusable, preferably completely destroyed. I know an acid like aqua regia is able to dissolve gold, but would there be a way to make it impossible (or atleastat least not workworth the cost) to chemically salvage the gold from the acid, or another way to permanently destroy gold?

I'm a writer. I have a scenario in which a sizable amount of gold needs to be rendered unable to be used, preferably completely destroyed. I know an acid like aqua regia is able to dissolve gold, but would there be a way to make it impossible (or atleast not work the cost) to chemically salvage the gold from the acid, or another way to permanently destroy gold?

I'm a writer. I have a scenario in which a sizable amount of gold needs to be rendered unusable, preferably completely destroyed. I know an acid like aqua regia is able to dissolve gold, but would there be a way to make it impossible (or at least not worth the cost) to chemically salvage the gold from the acid, or another way to permanently destroy gold?

Question Protected by CommunityBot
Source Link

Would it be possible to destroy gold?

I'm a writer. I have a scenario in which a sizable amount of gold needs to be rendered unable to be used, preferably completely destroyed. I know an acid like aqua regia is able to dissolve gold, but would there be a way to make it impossible (or atleast not work the cost) to chemically salvage the gold from the acid, or another way to permanently destroy gold?