Skip to main content
added 25 characters in body
Source Link
paracetamol
  • 18.8k
  • 30
  • 106
  • 171

Sometimes poisons are discovered by chance. At least that is what happened to me. We were researching on products made with malonodinitrile and enones. Since I was interested in the mechanism, I used milder conditions in the reaction so I could isolate the Michael and Knoevenagel intermediates and in one case a much more complicated product (see here).

The Knoevenagel adduct between malonodinitrile and cinnamaldehyde yields a beautiful yellow product. At that time there were no gloves in the lab (and we were very young and a bit careless), so sometimes some mother liquor spilled on your hands when the product was filtered.

The first time I made the product my hands got red. I did not pay attention. The second time, my hands got red and my arms burnt. I started to think that there might be a relation. The third time I made it, I was red from head to toes and all burnt like hell. I had to go to the hospital.

It seems to be an allergic reaction, which, as usual, become worse every time you come in contatctcontact with the product that causes it. Not exactly a poison, but maybe in a higher dose it can be fatal. I have not made the product anymore.

So in this particular case, it was discovered by the effect on a human.

A note for the younger ones: everything you synthesize can be a poison, so use gloves, work in the fume cupboard and do not get in contact with it.

[2]: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/004040209400937P%22(see%20here%22

Sometimes poisons are discovered by chance. At least that is what happened to me. We were researching on products made with malonodinitrile and enones. Since I was interested in the mechanism, I used milder conditions in the reaction so I could isolate the Michael and Knoevenagel intermediates and in one case a much more complicated product (see here).

The Knoevenagel adduct between malonodinitrile and cinnamaldehyde yields a beautiful yellow product. At that time there were no gloves in the lab (and we were very young and a bit careless), so sometimes some mother liquor spilled on your hands when the product was filtered.

The first time I made the product my hands got red. I did not pay attention. The second time, my hands got red and my arms burnt. I started to think that there might be a relation. The third time I made it, I was red from head to toes and all burnt like hell. I had to go to the hospital.

It seems to be an allergic reaction, which, as usual, become worse every time you come in contatct with the product that causes it. Not exactly a poison, but maybe in a higher dose it can be fatal. I have not made the product anymore.

So in this particular case, it was discovered by the effect on a human.

A note for the younger ones: everything you synthesize can be a poison, so use gloves, work in the fume cupboard and do not get in contact with it.

[2]: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/004040209400937P%22(see%20here%22

Sometimes poisons are discovered by chance. At least that is what happened to me. We were researching on products made with malonodinitrile and enones. Since I was interested in the mechanism, I used milder conditions in the reaction so I could isolate the Michael and Knoevenagel intermediates and in one case a much more complicated product (see here).

The Knoevenagel adduct between malonodinitrile and cinnamaldehyde yields a beautiful yellow product. At that time there were no gloves in the lab (and we were very young and a bit careless), so sometimes some mother liquor spilled on your hands when the product was filtered.

The first time I made the product my hands got red. I did not pay attention. The second time, my hands got red and my arms burnt. I started to think that there might be a relation. The third time I made it, I was red from head to toes and all burnt like hell. I had to go to the hospital.

It seems to be an allergic reaction, which, as usual, become worse every time you come in contact with the product that causes it. Not exactly a poison, but maybe in a higher dose it can be fatal. I have not made the product anymore.

So in this particular case, it was discovered by the effect on a human.

A note for the younger ones: everything you synthesize can be a poison, so use gloves, work in the fume cupboard and do not get in contact with it.

[2]: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/004040209400937P%22(see%20here%22

added 73 characters in body
Source Link
Raoul Kessels
  • 4.4k
  • 8
  • 24

Sometimes poisons are discovered by chance. At least that is what happened to me. We were researching on products made with malonodinitrile and enones. Since I was interested in the mechanism, I used milder conditions in the reaction so I could isolate the Michael and Knoevenagel intermediates and in one case a much more complicated product ([see here][1]see here).

The Knoevenagel adduct between malonodinitrile and cinnamaldehyde yields a beautiful yellow product. At that time there were no gloves in the lab (and we were very young and a bit careless), so sometimes some mother liquor spilled on your hands when the product was filtered.

The first time I made the product my hands got red. I did not pay attention. The second time, my hands got red and my arms burnt. I started to think that there might be a relation. The third time I made it, I was red from head to toes and all burnt like hell. I had to go to the hospital.

It seems to be an allergic reaction, which, as usual, become worse every time you come in contatct with the product that causes it. Not exactly a poison, but maybe in a higher dose it can be fatal. I have not made the product anymore.

So in this particular case, it was discovered by the effect on a human.

A note for the younger ones: everything you synthesize can be a poison, so use gloves, work in the fume cupboard and do not get in contact with it.

[1][2]: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/004040209400937P%22(see%20here%22

Sometimes poisons are discovered by chance. At least that is what happened to me. We were researching on products made with malonodinitrile and enones. Since I was interested in the mechanism, I used milder conditions in the reaction so I could isolate the Michael and Knoevenagel intermediates and in one case a much more complicated product ([see here][1]).

The Knoevenagel adduct between malonodinitrile and cinnamaldehyde yields a beautiful yellow product. At that time there were no gloves in the lab (and we were very young and a bit careless), so sometimes some mother liquor spilled on your hands when the product was filtered.

The first time I made the product my hands got red. I did not pay attention. The second time, my hands got red and my arms burnt. I started to think that there might be a relation. The third time I made it, I was red from head to toes and all burnt like hell. I had to go to the hospital.

It seems to be an allergic reaction, which, as usual, become worse every time you come in contatct with the product that causes it. Not exactly a poison, but maybe in a higher dose it can be fatal. I have not made the product anymore.

So in this particular case, it was discovered by the effect on a human.

A note for the younger ones: everything you synthesize can be a poison, so use gloves, work in the fume cupboard and do not get in contact with it.

[1]: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/004040209400937P%22(see%20here%22

Sometimes poisons are discovered by chance. At least that is what happened to me. We were researching on products made with malonodinitrile and enones. Since I was interested in the mechanism, I used milder conditions in the reaction so I could isolate the Michael and Knoevenagel intermediates and in one case a much more complicated product (see here).

The Knoevenagel adduct between malonodinitrile and cinnamaldehyde yields a beautiful yellow product. At that time there were no gloves in the lab (and we were very young and a bit careless), so sometimes some mother liquor spilled on your hands when the product was filtered.

The first time I made the product my hands got red. I did not pay attention. The second time, my hands got red and my arms burnt. I started to think that there might be a relation. The third time I made it, I was red from head to toes and all burnt like hell. I had to go to the hospital.

It seems to be an allergic reaction, which, as usual, become worse every time you come in contatct with the product that causes it. Not exactly a poison, but maybe in a higher dose it can be fatal. I have not made the product anymore.

So in this particular case, it was discovered by the effect on a human.

A note for the younger ones: everything you synthesize can be a poison, so use gloves, work in the fume cupboard and do not get in contact with it.

[2]: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/004040209400937P%22(see%20here%22

Source Link
Raoul Kessels
  • 4.4k
  • 8
  • 24

Sometimes poisons are discovered by chance. At least that is what happened to me. We were researching on products made with malonodinitrile and enones. Since I was interested in the mechanism, I used milder conditions in the reaction so I could isolate the Michael and Knoevenagel intermediates and in one case a much more complicated product ([see here][1]).

The Knoevenagel adduct between malonodinitrile and cinnamaldehyde yields a beautiful yellow product. At that time there were no gloves in the lab (and we were very young and a bit careless), so sometimes some mother liquor spilled on your hands when the product was filtered.

The first time I made the product my hands got red. I did not pay attention. The second time, my hands got red and my arms burnt. I started to think that there might be a relation. The third time I made it, I was red from head to toes and all burnt like hell. I had to go to the hospital.

It seems to be an allergic reaction, which, as usual, become worse every time you come in contatct with the product that causes it. Not exactly a poison, but maybe in a higher dose it can be fatal. I have not made the product anymore.

So in this particular case, it was discovered by the effect on a human.

A note for the younger ones: everything you synthesize can be a poison, so use gloves, work in the fume cupboard and do not get in contact with it.

[1]: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/004040209400937P%22(see%20here%22