Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body; edited title
Source Link
Gaurang Tandon
  • 9.9k
  • 11
  • 67
  • 122

Partly How does the composition of ice differ from that of water in a partly frozen solution?

Take any solution, then start freezing it at sufficiently low temperature. Soon a small amount of ice forms. I'd like to know how the composition of dissolved salts and gassesgases in the bit of ice differs from that in the water that's still liquid.

Assume that the solution is far from saturation and whatever other extreme conditions there can be. I don't have any particular solution in mind - it's the general principles that I'm interested in.

Partly frozen solution

Take any solution, then start freezing it at sufficiently low temperature. Soon a small amount of ice forms. I'd like to know how the composition of dissolved salts and gasses in the bit of ice differs from that in the water that's still liquid.

Assume that the solution is far from saturation and whatever other extreme conditions there can be. I don't have any particular solution in mind - it's the general principles that I'm interested in.

How does the composition of ice differ from that of water in a partly frozen solution?

Take any solution, then start freezing it at sufficiently low temperature. Soon a small amount of ice forms. I'd like to know how the composition of dissolved salts and gases in the bit of ice differs from that in the water that's still liquid.

Assume that the solution is far from saturation and whatever other extreme conditions there can be. I don't have any particular solution in mind - it's the general principles that I'm interested in.

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackChemistry/status/376861874673180672
Source Link

Partly frozen solution

Take any solution, then start freezing it at sufficiently low temperature. Soon a small amount of ice forms. I'd like to know how the composition of dissolved salts and gasses in the bit of ice differs from that in the water that's still liquid.

Assume that the solution is far from saturation and whatever other extreme conditions there can be. I don't have any particular solution in mind - it's the general principles that I'm interested in.