Skip to main content
added 534 characters in body
Source Link
most venerable sir
  • 2.7k
  • 13
  • 40
  • 65

I know that technically two or more gases in one container should have different volumes. But when you imagine the gas molecules being mixed together, it look sorta like the two gases have the exact same volume, that is the volume of the container.

Also, in one of the questions I did on gas laws, wet hydrogen and hydrogen are shown to have the same volume in a container. Given the barometric pressure, I subs tract the vapor pressure at the certain temperature from it. Then I sub the pressure of dry hydrogen gas into the ideal gas law along with the volume of the container to find the number of mole of hydrogen gas.

enter image description here This is the part in my textbook that I am confused about. It shows how partial pressure fraction is equal to the corresponding mole fraction. But this is all under the assumption that the volume and other things are constant. I am lost right here, because Avogadro's theory states the volume and mole number of a gas are directly proportional. ( wait...wouldn't this mean that pressure, mole and volume are all directly proportional to one another???)

Can anyone give a answer, along with a proof/ a source?

I know that technically two or more gases in one container should have different volumes. But when you imagine the gas molecules being mixed together, it look sorta like the two gases have the exact same volume, that is the volume of the container.

Also, in one of the questions I did on gas laws, wet hydrogen and hydrogen are shown to have the same volume in a container. Given the barometric pressure, I subs tract the vapor pressure at the certain temperature from it. Then I sub the pressure of dry hydrogen gas into the ideal gas law along with the volume of the container to find the number of mole of hydrogen gas.

Can anyone give a answer, along with a proof/ a source?

I know that technically two or more gases in one container should have different volumes. But when you imagine the gas molecules being mixed together, it look sorta like the two gases have the exact same volume, that is the volume of the container.

Also, in one of the questions I did on gas laws, wet hydrogen and hydrogen are shown to have the same volume in a container. Given the barometric pressure, I subs tract the vapor pressure at the certain temperature from it. Then I sub the pressure of dry hydrogen gas into the ideal gas law along with the volume of the container to find the number of mole of hydrogen gas.

enter image description here This is the part in my textbook that I am confused about. It shows how partial pressure fraction is equal to the corresponding mole fraction. But this is all under the assumption that the volume and other things are constant. I am lost right here, because Avogadro's theory states the volume and mole number of a gas are directly proportional. ( wait...wouldn't this mean that pressure, mole and volume are all directly proportional to one another???)

Can anyone give a answer, along with a proof/ a source?

added 59 characters in body
Source Link
most venerable sir
  • 2.7k
  • 13
  • 40
  • 65

I know that technically two or more gases in one container should have different volumes. But when you imagine the gas molecules being mixed together, it look sorta like the two gases have the exact same volume, that is the volume of the container.

Also, in one of the questions I did on gas laws, wet hydrogen and hydrogen are shown to have the same volume in a container. Given the barometric pressure, I subs tract the vapor pressure at the certain temperature from it. Then I sub the pressure of dry hydrogen gas into the ideal gas law along with the volume of the container to find the number of mole of hydrogen gas.

Can anyone give a answer, along with a proof/ a source?

I know that technically two or more gases in one container should have different volumes. But when you imagine the gas molecules being mixed together, it look sorta like the two gases have the exact same volume, that is the volume of the container.

Also, in one of the questions I did on gas laws, wet hydrogen and hydrogen are shown to have the same volume in a container. Given the barometric pressure, I subs tract the vapor pressure at the certain temperature from it. Then I sub the pressure of dry hydrogen gas into the ideal gas law along with the volume of the container to find the number of mole of hydrogen gas.

I know that technically two or more gases in one container should have different volumes. But when you imagine the gas molecules being mixed together, it look sorta like the two gases have the exact same volume, that is the volume of the container.

Also, in one of the questions I did on gas laws, wet hydrogen and hydrogen are shown to have the same volume in a container. Given the barometric pressure, I subs tract the vapor pressure at the certain temperature from it. Then I sub the pressure of dry hydrogen gas into the ideal gas law along with the volume of the container to find the number of mole of hydrogen gas.

Can anyone give a answer, along with a proof/ a source?

Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackChemistry/status/527784390802173953
Source Link
most venerable sir
  • 2.7k
  • 13
  • 40
  • 65

Volume of different gas in a container

I know that technically two or more gases in one container should have different volumes. But when you imagine the gas molecules being mixed together, it look sorta like the two gases have the exact same volume, that is the volume of the container.

Also, in one of the questions I did on gas laws, wet hydrogen and hydrogen are shown to have the same volume in a container. Given the barometric pressure, I subs tract the vapor pressure at the certain temperature from it. Then I sub the pressure of dry hydrogen gas into the ideal gas law along with the volume of the container to find the number of mole of hydrogen gas.