Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
Waylander
  • 22.6k
  • 4
  • 38
  • 60

In terms of storage, I thought that glass was the safest bet for chemicals: No leeching, no real degradation (neglecting it's an amorphous solid), affordable, etc...

However, I recently heard that NAOHNaOH will actually react with glass. What is this reaction? What is the preferred way to store sodium hydroxide, if not glass?

In terms of storage, I thought that glass was the safest bet for chemicals: No leeching, no real degradation (neglecting it's an amorphous solid), affordable, etc...

However, I recently heard that NAOH will actually react with glass. What is this reaction? What is the preferred way to store sodium hydroxide, if not glass?

In terms of storage, I thought that glass was the safest bet for chemicals: No leeching, no real degradation (neglecting it's an amorphous solid), affordable, etc...

However, I recently heard that NaOH will actually react with glass. What is this reaction? What is the preferred way to store sodium hydroxide, if not glass?

Source Link
Melanie Shebel
  • 6.8k
  • 10
  • 47
  • 88

Reaction between sodium hydroxide and glass?

In terms of storage, I thought that glass was the safest bet for chemicals: No leeching, no real degradation (neglecting it's an amorphous solid), affordable, etc...

However, I recently heard that NAOH will actually react with glass. What is this reaction? What is the preferred way to store sodium hydroxide, if not glass?