Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Needs more focus" by Mithoron, Mathew Mahindaratne, Jannis Andreska, Jon Custer, Todd Minehardt
tidy up a little
Source Link
Buck Thorn
  • 22.5k
  • 5
  • 38
  • 91

CHEM11 confused by Position of H in formula

I couldn't come to a resolution with these 2 questions that use hydrogen in the middle of a formula that is equipped with a numerical prefix.

Why is is one inside the bracket and one outside? Am I mixing up one is a cation and the other is anion? At this point I don't even know what i'm talking about so please help.

aluminumAluminum monohydrogen phosphate  :Al2(HPO4)3 CuH2PO4 :Copper $\ce{Al2(HPO4)3}$

Copper(I)dihydrogen phosphate: $\ce{CuH2PO4 }$

The other question is, in hypochlorous acid (HClO), leaves out the 2 charges after the O? ex) I wrote HClO2$\ce{HClO2}$.

Do we always not mention the charges in binary acid compounds?

CHEM11 confused by H in formula

I couldn't come to a resolution with these 2 questions that use hydrogen in the middle of a formula that is equipped with a numerical prefix.

Why is is one inside the bracket and one outside? Am I mixing up one is a cation and the other is anion? At this point I don't even know what i'm talking about so please help.

aluminum monohydrogen phosphate  :Al2(HPO4)3 CuH2PO4 :Copper(I)dihydrogen phosphate

The other question is in hypochlorous acid (HClO), leaves out the 2 charges after the O? ex) I wrote HClO2.

Do we always not mention the charges in binary acid compounds?

Position of H in formula

I couldn't come to a resolution with these 2 questions that use hydrogen in the middle of a formula that is equipped with a numerical prefix.

Why is is one inside the bracket and one outside? Am I mixing up one is a cation and the other is anion?

Aluminum monohydrogen phosphate: $\ce{Al2(HPO4)3}$

Copper(I)dihydrogen phosphate: $\ce{CuH2PO4 }$

The other question is, in hypochlorous acid (HClO), leaves out the 2 charges after the O? ex) I wrote $\ce{HClO2}$.

Do we always not mention the charges in binary acid compounds?

Source Link

CHEM11 confused by H in formula

I couldn't come to a resolution with these 2 questions that use hydrogen in the middle of a formula that is equipped with a numerical prefix.

Why is is one inside the bracket and one outside? Am I mixing up one is a cation and the other is anion? At this point I don't even know what i'm talking about so please help.

aluminum monohydrogen phosphate :Al2(HPO4)3 CuH2PO4 :Copper(I)dihydrogen phosphate

The other question is in hypochlorous acid (HClO), leaves out the 2 charges after the O? ex) I wrote HClO2.

Do we always not mention the charges in binary acid compounds?