Skip to main content
Improved the heading and clarity. Added some tags.
Source Link
Mathew Mahindaratne
  • 41k
  • 28
  • 55
  • 109

I am trying to do a H2$\ce{H2}$ reduction of cyclic alkene (otherwise simple hydrocarbon with 1 methyl group along with the chain about the weakly-strained cycle) using Pd/C $\ce{Pd/C}$, the cycloalkene neat, and some glacial acetic acid. I am starting with a N2 $\ce{N2}$ atmosphere, and charging the vessel (Parr) with high pressures of H2 $\ce{H2}$ (>400 psi)$(\gt \pu{400 psi})$ and from ambient to elevated temperatures (150 C)$(\pu{150 ^\circ C})$.

But the rxnreaction isn't working (gcGC data only)... What am I overlooking? Or doing wrong? (I'm a chemist, but have never done this).

Could I be reducing the N2 $\ce{N2}$, producing NH3 $\ce{NH3}$ and poisoning the Pd $\ce{Pd}$? Am I sintering the Pd $\ce{Pd}$ by adding too much H2 $\ce{H2}$ too quickly or heating too high? Simply a slow rxnreaction and I'm been impatient (running 100+ h$\gt \pu{100 h}$ though)?

I am trying to do a H2 reduction of cyclic alkene (otherwise simple hydrocarbon with 1 methyl group along with the chain about the weakly-strained cycle) using Pd/C, the cycloalkene neat, and some glacial acetic acid. I am starting with a N2 atmosphere, and charging the vessel (Parr) with high pressures of H2 (>400 psi) and from ambient to elevated temperatures (150 C).

But the rxn isn't working (gc data only)... What am I overlooking? Or doing wrong? (I'm a chemist, but have never done this).

Could I be reducing the N2, producing NH3 and poisoning the Pd? Am I sintering the Pd by adding too much H2 too quickly or heating too high? Simply a slow rxn and I'm impatient (running 100+ h though)?

I am trying to do a $\ce{H2}$ reduction of cyclic alkene (otherwise simple hydrocarbon with 1 methyl group along with the chain about the weakly-strained cycle) using $\ce{Pd/C}$, the cycloalkene neat, and some glacial acetic acid. I am starting with a $\ce{N2}$ atmosphere, and charging the vessel (Parr) with high pressures of $\ce{H2}$ $(\gt \pu{400 psi})$ and from ambient to elevated temperatures $(\pu{150 ^\circ C})$.

But the reaction isn't working (GC data only)... What am I overlooking? Or doing wrong? (I'm a chemist, but have never done this).

Could I be reducing the $\ce{N2}$, producing $\ce{NH3}$ and poisoning the $\ce{Pd}$? Am I sintering the $\ce{Pd}$ by adding too much $\ce{H2}$ too quickly or heating too high? Simply a slow reaction and I'm been impatient (running $\gt \pu{100 h}$ though)?

Source Link
Greg
  • 39
  • 1

Conditions for Pd/C reduction of alkene

I am trying to do a H2 reduction of cyclic alkene (otherwise simple hydrocarbon with 1 methyl group along with the chain about the weakly-strained cycle) using Pd/C, the cycloalkene neat, and some glacial acetic acid. I am starting with a N2 atmosphere, and charging the vessel (Parr) with high pressures of H2 (>400 psi) and from ambient to elevated temperatures (150 C).

But the rxn isn't working (gc data only)... What am I overlooking? Or doing wrong? (I'm a chemist, but have never done this).

Could I be reducing the N2, producing NH3 and poisoning the Pd? Am I sintering the Pd by adding too much H2 too quickly or heating too high? Simply a slow rxn and I'm impatient (running 100+ h though)?