Skip to main content
Improved formatting and clarity. Added few tags.
Source Link
Mathew Mahindaratne
  • 41k
  • 28
  • 55
  • 109

I know NaOH$\ce{NaOH}$ can absorb $NO_2$$\ce{NO2}$, but I could not find any data of solubility of $NO_2$$\ce{NO2}$ in NaOH$\ce{NaOH}$ at room temperature and atmospheric pressure.

I am trying to figure out how much NaOH solution I will need to absorb the $NO_2$$\ce{NO2}$ gas being produced from a result of another reaction. My setup is having NaOH$\ce{NaOH}$ solution in a beaker (how much is what I want to calculate) and feed in the $NO_2$$\ce{NO2}$ gas into the solution. Is there any way to theoretically calculate the quantity of NaOH$\ce{NaOH}$ I will need to absorb the $NO_2$$\ce{NO2}$ gas without solubility data?

I know NaOH can absorb $NO_2$, but I could not find any data of solubility of $NO_2$ in NaOH at room temperature and atmospheric pressure.

I am trying to figure out how much NaOH solution I will need to absorb the $NO_2$ gas being produced from a result of another reaction. My setup is having NaOH solution in a beaker (how much is what I want to calculate) and feed in the $NO_2$ gas into the solution. Is there any way to theoretically calculate the quantity of NaOH I will need to absorb the $NO_2$ gas without solubility data?

I know $\ce{NaOH}$ can absorb $\ce{NO2}$, but I could not find any data of solubility of $\ce{NO2}$ in $\ce{NaOH}$ at room temperature and atmospheric pressure.

I am trying to figure out how much NaOH solution I will need to absorb the $\ce{NO2}$ gas being produced from a result of another reaction. My setup is having $\ce{NaOH}$ solution in a beaker (how much is what I want to calculate) and feed in the $\ce{NO2}$ gas into the solution. Is there any way to theoretically calculate the quantity of $\ce{NaOH}$ I will need to absorb the $\ce{NO2}$ gas without solubility data?

Source Link
user510
  • 864
  • 4
  • 15
  • 31

Solubility of nitrogen dioxide in sodium hydroxide

I know NaOH can absorb $NO_2$, but I could not find any data of solubility of $NO_2$ in NaOH at room temperature and atmospheric pressure.

I am trying to figure out how much NaOH solution I will need to absorb the $NO_2$ gas being produced from a result of another reaction. My setup is having NaOH solution in a beaker (how much is what I want to calculate) and feed in the $NO_2$ gas into the solution. Is there any way to theoretically calculate the quantity of NaOH I will need to absorb the $NO_2$ gas without solubility data?