Skip to main content
Post Closed as "Opinion-based" by Todd Minehardt, Jon Custer, Mithoron, Mathew Mahindaratne, Tyberius
Stereodescriptors are printed in italic characters.
Source Link
Buttonwood
  • 30.4k
  • 2
  • 48
  • 111

I'm learning about SS and RR configuration, and I know that in case where the 4th substituant is not behind we should permute it with the one which is behind. then we find the new configuration and use the opposit, if we find it RR then the original configuration is SS.

My question concerns the case when should I make 2 permutations ? Is that even possible ? because this will give back the original configuration but I dont know what are the cases which I use only one permutation and what are the cases where I apply more than one permutation, this seems very confusing.

I'm learning about S and R configuration, and I know that in case where the 4th substituant is not behind we should permute it with the one which is behind. then we find the new configuration and use the opposit, if we find it R then the original configuration is S.

My question concerns the case when should I make 2 permutations ? Is that even possible ? because this will give back the original configuration but I dont know what are the cases which I use only one permutation and what are the cases where I apply more than one permutation, this seems very confusing.

I'm learning about S and R configuration, and I know that in case where the 4th substituant is not behind we should permute it with the one which is behind. then we find the new configuration and use the opposit, if we find it R then the original configuration is S.

My question concerns the case when should I make 2 permutations ? Is that even possible ? because this will give back the original configuration but I dont know what are the cases which I use only one permutation and what are the cases where I apply more than one permutation, this seems very confusing.

Source Link

When to permute two times to find optical configuration

I'm learning about S and R configuration, and I know that in case where the 4th substituant is not behind we should permute it with the one which is behind. then we find the new configuration and use the opposit, if we find it R then the original configuration is S.

My question concerns the case when should I make 2 permutations ? Is that even possible ? because this will give back the original configuration but I dont know what are the cases which I use only one permutation and what are the cases where I apply more than one permutation, this seems very confusing.