Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 15, 2019 at 19:31 comment added Karsten @BatWannaBe I added two references (still not exactly what you were asking, but relevant).
Apr 15, 2019 at 19:26 history edited Karsten CC BY-SA 4.0
responded to OP's comment
Apr 15, 2019 at 18:55 comment added BatWannaBe Yes, exactly. Not great because the methanol is the most similar to water in size and shape of all the alcohols, but it was the only source I could find with both hemiacetal and hydrate reactions for a wide variety of species that wasn't behind a paywall.
Apr 15, 2019 at 18:44 comment added Karsten You are referring to this source
Apr 15, 2019 at 18:32 comment added BatWannaBe I did read that geminal diol stability varies and why (oxygen repulsion). However, I read the exact same reasons for hemiacetal instability. So I figured I should find hard numbers like equilibrium constants. The only source I can find showing equilibrium constants for a wide variety of carbonyl species is a page of lecture notes that cites two old sources, one for hemiacetals and one for hydrates, and it suggests that the more readily an aldehyde reacts with water, the more readily it reacts with methanol. I can't find a single mention of a glucose-geminal-diol, like it didn't exist.
Apr 15, 2019 at 17:30 history answered Karsten CC BY-SA 4.0