Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • $\begingroup$ I'm afraid I still don't follow. In your last equation, what is w, and why is it the negtative of the optical density? Additionally, doesn't it still imply that the extinction coefficient at a given wavelength is still inversely proportional to the concentration of the species? Working through the maths I get the relation: (e(water, measured) - e0) / e0, where e0 is the extinction coefficient for the initial concentration and e(water, measured) is equilivent to eW in my post. $\endgroup$
    – K.P.
    Commented Nov 19, 2018 at 11:54
  • $\begingroup$ The equation you quote has $\epsilon^{+w}$ and from Beers law it should be $e^{-\epsilon [C]L}$ so $-w$, it may be my misunderstanding from what you wrote I has assume that it was a typo and $\epsilon^{w}$ should actually be $e^w$. $\endgroup$
    – porphyrin
    Commented Nov 19, 2018 at 12:08
  • $\begingroup$ Ah that’s my fault - I didn’t define the terms in my equation because they were defined in the link. I’ve now edited it to make it more clear - the terms in the equation are all extinction coefficients; the W superscript says that they are the extinction coefficients in water solvent. This means when I wrote e in my first reply to you I meant epsilon, the extinction coefficients. $\endgroup$
    – K.P.
    Commented Nov 19, 2018 at 13:34
  • $\begingroup$ I realized that in my calculations I erroneously cancelled Ao and A with each other. Now working through the mathematics I can't seem to get the desired equation at all. $\endgroup$
    – K.P.
    Commented Nov 19, 2018 at 16:38