Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 30, 2020 at 18:28 comment added Buck Thorn Mod @Martin-マーチン I entered into a discussion regarding reasons to close homework with orthocresol in this post. The conclusion that emerged from that discussion is that the "effort" clause is unique to closure of homework, all other ones being covered by other close options (lack of focus, detail, duplication, etc). Your point is noted, and I recommend you post an alternative answer with alternative wording for the blurbs.
Jun 30, 2020 at 16:22 comment added Martin - マーチン Mod The policy for closing "homework" is insufficient effort. I am not okay with that being the summary of our entire homework policy; the word effort itself only appears in the examples category. The main takeaway should be ask a conceptual question and explain your problem.
Jun 29, 2020 at 8:54 comment added orthocresol Ok, thanks for this. Personally, the tone doesn't seem to be very different to me, but that means that I would be quite ok with those changes (after all if you like it better and I'm indifferent, we may as well go with that). I'm open to the rephrasing of 'engagement' vs 'finding a solution', let's see if anybody else has an opinion.
Jun 28, 2020 at 21:33 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
added 3245 characters in body
Jun 28, 2020 at 13:22 comment added Buck Thorn Mod @orthocresol I can add some explanations to my answer as an addendum; I wanted to keep the answer to a minimum. Yes, style plays a role in the edits. I think visitors - particularly someone who's had their post closed - will be sensitive to style, but I admit some of it is just personal preference (british vs american diction, say).
Jun 28, 2020 at 12:48 comment added orthocresol Would you mind explaining why you've changed some of this? I see that you added "as written", which I can certainly agree with (since closure is not the end of a question, ... ... so it's a good point there), but the rest seem to be minor rewordings?
Jun 27, 2020 at 20:08 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
added 1322 characters in body
Jun 27, 2020 at 5:07 history answered Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0