Skip to main content
26 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 5, 2019 at 11:41 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 1106 characters in body
Jun 5, 2019 at 11:31 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 33 characters in body
Jun 5, 2019 at 11:24 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 33 characters in body
Jun 5, 2019 at 11:09 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
added 2 characters in body
Jun 5, 2019 at 10:59 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
added 3529 characters in body
Jun 4, 2019 at 20:47 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
added 6481 characters in body
Jun 2, 2019 at 20:10 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
added 230 characters in body
Jun 1, 2019 at 20:54 comment added M.A.R. Alrighty, I'm done writing my perhaps long-winded monologue. You can read from here. I hope you now see why I didn't feel comfortable doing it here, because I'm not fond of "load 32 more comments" ;) If you wanted to respond, you can "join the room" and reply to my messages. Good night!
Jun 1, 2019 at 20:14 comment added Buck Thorn Mod And a parting thought.I understand the need to tidy up the site and avoid accumulation of bad questions and answers, but the emphasis on closing is one aspect of SO and SE that has never quite appealed to me. I think merging, aliasing and linking (starting with IDing duplicates) is the better option (if more costly, as I mention).
Jun 1, 2019 at 20:11 comment added Buck Thorn Mod @M.A.R.ಠ_ಠ I think it's good you re-opened the topic and hope you succeed getting the answer you (and the site) need. Personally I think more choices should be added to the close list, but closing should not require unanimous agreement on the reason to close. My point is that the absence of choices is not what keeps questions open. If people want them closed they will. The absence just adds ambiguity to the closure process. It'd help if someone could explain why there are not more choices.
Jun 1, 2019 at 20:01 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 7 characters in body
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:58 comment added M.A.R. Sure, I'd leave my thoughts there and you can come back and respond when you had the time. It's getting pretty messy here tho'.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:58 comment added Buck Thorn Mod Sorry I'd love to chat but timing is not good- maybe tomorrow.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:57 comment added Buck Thorn Mod Somehow this isn't vague: "Closure is meant to stop a flow of bad answers, there can be a good quality question that doesn't fit the SE format, is likely to attract bad answers, and hence ends up being closed." Sorry, I know it's the site's policy you echo, but, well, that doesn't make sense. Imagine a duplicate question that according to site policy is a good question but according to your definition would lead to bad answers, receives an answer that is a duplicate of the duplicate question's good answer. How does that make sense?
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:56 comment added M.A.R. Let us continue this discussion in chat.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:56 comment added M.A.R. Alright. :) I still feel like we can discuss it more easily in a more relaxed environment than comments under the answer.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:52 comment added Buck Thorn Mod "Shutting down" is vague if you define it vaguely. My definition is not vague. It means "closing" :-) Sorry about the confusion.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:49 comment added M.A.R. I believe we can discuss this more effectively if you come to chat.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:48 comment added M.A.R. I didn't say it wasn't, I'm saying 'shutting down' is so vague and broad it just means little more than 'disliking something strongly', and that'd be a valid reason for someone to exercise their downvotes, but it doesn't necessarily mean the question should be closed. Closure is meant to stop a flow of bad answers, there can be a good quality question that doesn't fit the SE format, is likely to attract bad answers, and hence ends up being closed.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:45 comment added Buck Thorn Mod @M.A.R.ಠ_ಠ I analyze the mechanism of closing as I see it. I conclude: "Unfortunately, "homework" is less clear and open to dispute than "low quality" or some more benign label." Previous posts (eg by Karsten Theis) suggest using a different label. You should as Gaurang Tandon suggests seek to streamline. Substituting "homework" might be a good step, avoiding the crooked ->offtopic->homework route and potential complaints from the OP.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:43 comment added Buck Thorn Mod @M.A.R.ಠ_ಠ No, I think you may misunderstand me. I am hypothesizing on what will probably happen, not on what should. And I am not the architect of the site, just a user and spectator, and am willing to make suggestions without bad will, which you should be thankful for. I am not sure what kind of concrete answers you expect on a question that has lingered for years.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:42 comment added Buck Thorn Mod @M.A.R.ಠ_ಠ"Closing is the official "sorry, this doesn't fit our model and hence we refrain from answering it" response." How is this different from "shutting down"?
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:35 history edited Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 10 characters in body
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:31 comment added M.A.R. That said, I think your conclusion is it should stay because if it's gone people will just use other options, right? That's precisely the problem I want to avoid by having composed this meta. It's to gather ideas on what questions would receive that treatment, questions that are rightfully closed but with a currently flawed policy. I assume good faith in people, and with a more clearly defined scope, people would ideally change their behavior to downvote the low-quality, and close the unanswerable.
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:27 comment added M.A.R. You speak of 'shutting down a post' throughout your answer, but it's such a broad term IMHO that is just impractical for the sake of this conversation. Downvotes tend to follow with close votes, but each is designed to convey a different meaning, and they don't and shouldn't align all the time. (See chemistry.meta.stackexchange.com/a/3167/7448)
Jun 1, 2019 at 19:02 history answered Buck ThornMod CC BY-SA 4.0