Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackChemistry/status/935506234425344000
added link to suggested edit, and directly to revisions
Source Link

This was a suggested editsuggested edit to this post (which is in Spanish)this post (link to revision in Spanish):

enter image description herescreenshot of suggested edit

From what I can make out (largely thanks to Google Translate), the proposed translation is pretty much correct (and makes minor alterations in sentence structure).

Now I understand that such edits always carry the possibility of distorting the author's actual intentions (which counts in favor of rejecting the edit)..., but if it is the (seemingly) only means of making (a fairly good) question more accessible to the rest of the community, why not approve the edit (especially when it appears to be accurate)?

P.S- I neither approved nor rejected the said edit... but it looks good IMHO P.S. I neither approved nor rejected the said edit, but it looks good IMHO.


Edit: As of now, Martin and TAR already approved the edit. Accordingly, I've retracted my (unclear) close-vote on the said question and upvoted.

This was a suggested edit to this post (which is in Spanish):

enter image description here

From what I can make out (largely thanks to Google Translate), the proposed translation is pretty much correct (and makes minor alterations in sentence structure).

Now I understand that such edits always carry the possibility of distorting the author's actual intentions (which counts in favor of rejecting the edit)... but if it is the (seemingly) only means of making (a fairly good) question more accessible to the rest of the community, why not approve the edit (especially when it appears to be accurate)?

P.S- I neither approved nor rejected the said edit... but it looks good IMHO


Edit: Martin and TAR already approved the edit. Accordingly, I've retracted my close-vote on the said question and upvoted.

This was a suggested edit to this post (link to revision in Spanish):

screenshot of suggested edit

From what I can make out (largely thanks to Google Translate), the proposed translation is pretty much correct (and makes minor alterations in sentence structure).

Now I understand that such edits always carry the possibility of distorting the author's actual intentions (which counts in favor of rejecting the edit), but if it is the (seemingly) only means of making (a fairly good) question more accessible to the rest of the community, why not approve the edit (especially when it appears to be accurate)?

P.S. I neither approved nor rejected the said edit, but it looks good IMHO.


As of now, Martin and TAR already approved the edit. Accordingly, I've retracted my (unclear) close-vote on the said question and upvoted.

added 87 characters in body
Source Link
paracetamol
  • 18.8k
  • 7
  • 13

This was a suggested edit to this post (which is in Spanish):

enter image description here

From what I can make out (largely thanks to Google Translate), the proposed translation is pretty much correct (and makes minor alterations in sentence structure).

Now I understand that such edits always carry the possibility of distorting the author's actual intentions (which counts in favor of rejecting the edit)... but if it is the (seemingly) only means of making (a fairly good) question more accessible to the rest of the community, why not approve the edit (especially when it appears to be accurate)?

P.S- I neither approved nor rejected the said edit... but it looks good IMHO


Edit: Martin and TAR already approved the edit. Accordingly, I've retracted my close-vote on the said question and upvoted.

This was a suggested edit to this post (which is in Spanish):

enter image description here

From what I can make out (largely thanks to Google Translate), the proposed translation is pretty much correct (and makes minor alterations in sentence structure).

Now I understand that such edits always carry the possibility of distorting the author's actual intentions (which counts in favor of rejecting the edit)... but if it is the (seemingly) only means of making (a fairly good) question more accessible to the rest of the community, why not approve the edit (especially when it appears to be accurate)?

P.S- I neither approved nor rejected the said edit... but it looks good IMHO

This was a suggested edit to this post (which is in Spanish):

enter image description here

From what I can make out (largely thanks to Google Translate), the proposed translation is pretty much correct (and makes minor alterations in sentence structure).

Now I understand that such edits always carry the possibility of distorting the author's actual intentions (which counts in favor of rejecting the edit)... but if it is the (seemingly) only means of making (a fairly good) question more accessible to the rest of the community, why not approve the edit (especially when it appears to be accurate)?

P.S- I neither approved nor rejected the said edit... but it looks good IMHO


Edit: Martin and TAR already approved the edit. Accordingly, I've retracted my close-vote on the said question and upvoted.

Source Link
paracetamol
  • 18.8k
  • 7
  • 13

Non-English posts: Should edits that offer a translation be entertained?

This was a suggested edit to this post (which is in Spanish):

enter image description here

From what I can make out (largely thanks to Google Translate), the proposed translation is pretty much correct (and makes minor alterations in sentence structure).

Now I understand that such edits always carry the possibility of distorting the author's actual intentions (which counts in favor of rejecting the edit)... but if it is the (seemingly) only means of making (a fairly good) question more accessible to the rest of the community, why not approve the edit (especially when it appears to be accurate)?

P.S- I neither approved nor rejected the said edit... but it looks good IMHO