Skip to main content
trying to clarify my point
Source Link
user37142
user37142

10% of posted questions is way to much.

Yet I don't think a closing-policy would do any good. I think there are two kinds of bad questions. The first kind are questions that are bad for different reasons. From what I see, often there the asker is willing to edit their question so it gets better. I don't think we need to do anything about those questions.

The second kind, the zero-effort questions are a problem.

The biggest problem with the whole zero-effort situation is that if you ask the OP to add effort of his own, you never hear back from them as they abandon the question. These guys write that question probably in chem.SE, but also on quora, gutefrage.net etc pp.. Then they just wait where they find their answer and then they're gone (Are there statistics available with 1-rep accounts with 1 question that is closed?).

So I think that we will always have those questions, and the quality of them will not change.

I can think of these options:

  1. Try to only advertise this site to "the right audience" (very difficult and kind of elitist/arrogant)
  2. Close-and-forget the zero-effort questions
  3. Implement hurdles for asking questions (very bad idea imho)
  4. Stick with trying to be nice and get the OP to add effort and get more frustrated every day
  5. Try your model

I don't think that posting a "identify the concept behind your question and conceptualize it" comment would change anything, since the zero-effort-zombies don't read it, and they also don't read it on other questions since they are hunting for a quick no-brainer answer to their homework/whatever.

I personally like your proposition, and I would be all up for trying it, but I honestly don't have a lot of hope.

I don't think getting a new closing-policy will solve the problem, but only mask it. If we want to make this site better, we need to be active, not reactive. A proposition like @ortho's in the comments might be a better way, although it would result in probably a lot of work for a couple determined people.

10% of posted questions is way to much.

Yet I don't think a closing-policy would do any good.

The biggest problem with the whole zero-effort situation is that if you ask the OP to add effort of his own, you never hear back from them as they abandon the question. These guys write that question probably in chem.SE, but also on quora, gutefrage.net etc pp.. Then they just wait where they find their answer and then they're gone (Are there statistics available with 1-rep accounts with 1 question that is closed?).

So I think that we will always have those questions, and the quality of them will not change.

I can think of these options:

  1. Try to only advertise this site to "the right audience" (very difficult and kind of elitist/arrogant)
  2. Close-and-forget the zero-effort questions
  3. Implement hurdles for asking questions (very bad idea imho)
  4. Stick with trying to be nice and get the OP to add effort and get more frustrated every day
  5. Try your model

I don't think that posting a "identify the concept behind your question and conceptualize it" comment would change anything, since the zero-effort-zombies don't read it, and they also don't read it on other questions since they are hunting for a quick no-brainer answer to their homework/whatever.

I personally like your proposition, and I would be all up for trying it, but I honestly don't have a lot of hope...

10% of posted questions is way to much.

Yet I don't think a closing-policy would do any good. I think there are two kinds of bad questions. The first kind are questions that are bad for different reasons. From what I see, often there the asker is willing to edit their question so it gets better. I don't think we need to do anything about those questions.

The second kind, the zero-effort questions are a problem.

The biggest problem with the whole zero-effort situation is that if you ask the OP to add effort of his own, you never hear back from them as they abandon the question. These guys write that question probably in chem.SE, but also on quora, gutefrage.net etc pp.. Then they just wait where they find their answer and then they're gone (Are there statistics available with 1-rep accounts with 1 question that is closed?).

So I think that we will always have those questions, and the quality of them will not change.

I can think of these options:

  1. Try to only advertise this site to "the right audience" (very difficult and kind of elitist/arrogant)
  2. Close-and-forget the zero-effort questions
  3. Implement hurdles for asking questions (very bad idea imho)
  4. Stick with trying to be nice and get the OP to add effort and get more frustrated every day
  5. Try your model

I don't think that posting a "identify the concept behind your question and conceptualize it" comment would change anything, since the zero-effort-zombies don't read it, and they also don't read it on other questions since they are hunting for a quick no-brainer answer to their homework/whatever.

I personally like your proposition, and I would be all up for trying it, but I honestly don't have a lot of hope.

I don't think getting a new closing-policy will solve the problem, but only mask it. If we want to make this site better, we need to be active, not reactive. A proposition like @ortho's in the comments might be a better way, although it would result in probably a lot of work for a couple determined people.

added 57 characters in body
Source Link
user37142
user37142

10% of posted questions is way to much.

Yet I don't think a closing-policy would do any good.

The biggest problem with the whole zero-effort situation is that if you ask the OP to add effort of his own, you never hear back from them as they abandon the question. These guys write that question probably in chem.SE, but also on quora, gutefrage.net etc pp.. Then they just wait where they find their answer and then they're gone (Are there statistics available with 1-rep accounts with 1 question that is closed?).

So I think that we will always have those questions, and the quality of them will not change.

I can think of these options:

  1. Try to only advertise this site to "the right audience" (very difficult and kind of elitist/arrogant)
  2. Close-and-forget the zero-effort questions
  3. Implement hurdles for asking questions (very bad idea imho)
  4. Stick with trying to be nice and get the OP to add effort and get more frustrated every day
  5. Try your model

I don't think that posting a "identify the concept behind your question and conceptualize it" comment would change anything, since the zero-effort-zombies don't read it, and they also don't read it on other questions since they are hunting for a quick no-brainer answer to their homework/whatever.

I personally like your proposition, and I would be all up for trying it, but I honestly don't have a lot of hope...

10% of posted questions is way to much.

The biggest problem with the whole zero-effort situation is that if you ask the OP to add effort of his own, you never hear back from them as they abandon the question. These guys write that question probably in chem.SE, but also on quora, gutefrage.net etc pp.. Then they just wait where they find their answer and then they're gone (Are there statistics available with 1-rep accounts with 1 question that is closed?).

So I think that we will always have those questions, and the quality of them will not change.

I can think of these options:

  1. Try to only advertise this site to "the right audience" (very difficult and kind of elitist/arrogant)
  2. Close-and-forget the zero-effort questions
  3. Implement hurdles for asking questions (very bad idea imho)
  4. Stick with trying to be nice and get the OP to add effort and get more frustrated every day
  5. Try your model

I don't think that posting a "identify the concept behind your question and conceptualize it" comment would change anything, since the zero-effort-zombies don't read it, and they also don't read it on other questions since they are hunting for a quick no-brainer answer to their homework/whatever.

I personally like your proposition, and I would be all up for trying it, but I honestly don't have a lot of hope...

10% of posted questions is way to much.

Yet I don't think a closing-policy would do any good.

The biggest problem with the whole zero-effort situation is that if you ask the OP to add effort of his own, you never hear back from them as they abandon the question. These guys write that question probably in chem.SE, but also on quora, gutefrage.net etc pp.. Then they just wait where they find their answer and then they're gone (Are there statistics available with 1-rep accounts with 1 question that is closed?).

So I think that we will always have those questions, and the quality of them will not change.

I can think of these options:

  1. Try to only advertise this site to "the right audience" (very difficult and kind of elitist/arrogant)
  2. Close-and-forget the zero-effort questions
  3. Implement hurdles for asking questions (very bad idea imho)
  4. Stick with trying to be nice and get the OP to add effort and get more frustrated every day
  5. Try your model

I don't think that posting a "identify the concept behind your question and conceptualize it" comment would change anything, since the zero-effort-zombies don't read it, and they also don't read it on other questions since they are hunting for a quick no-brainer answer to their homework/whatever.

I personally like your proposition, and I would be all up for trying it, but I honestly don't have a lot of hope...

Source Link
user37142
user37142

10% of posted questions is way to much.

The biggest problem with the whole zero-effort situation is that if you ask the OP to add effort of his own, you never hear back from them as they abandon the question. These guys write that question probably in chem.SE, but also on quora, gutefrage.net etc pp.. Then they just wait where they find their answer and then they're gone (Are there statistics available with 1-rep accounts with 1 question that is closed?).

So I think that we will always have those questions, and the quality of them will not change.

I can think of these options:

  1. Try to only advertise this site to "the right audience" (very difficult and kind of elitist/arrogant)
  2. Close-and-forget the zero-effort questions
  3. Implement hurdles for asking questions (very bad idea imho)
  4. Stick with trying to be nice and get the OP to add effort and get more frustrated every day
  5. Try your model

I don't think that posting a "identify the concept behind your question and conceptualize it" comment would change anything, since the zero-effort-zombies don't read it, and they also don't read it on other questions since they are hunting for a quick no-brainer answer to their homework/whatever.

I personally like your proposition, and I would be all up for trying it, but I honestly don't have a lot of hope...