Skip to main content
deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
paracetamol
  • 18.8k
  • 7
  • 13

I have this habit; whenever I see a new user post a "low quality" answer to a question, I tend to upvote it.

When I say "low quality" answers, I mean answers that aren't particularly helpful, or don't exactly attempt to answer the question entirely. These answers aren't blatantly incorrect...they are, in fact, oversimplified and are often very short. (Take for example the second answer to 1this post:[this post]...not wrong but not very detailed either).

I do this because I feel it would encourage new users to remain on Chem.SE and contribute further.

My question: How does the community view my actions in this regard? Should I continue doing this?

[Yes, I know my right to cast votes here is...well...purely my right, and it doesn't require any "sanction" from other users. But does my frequent upvoting of "low-quality" answers convey the wrong idea to new users? Should I, perhaps, alter or altogether stop my actions?]

I have this habit; whenever I see a new user post a "low quality" answer to a question, I tend to upvote it.

When I say "low quality" answers, I mean answers that aren't particularly helpful, or don't exactly attempt to answer the question entirely. These answers aren't blatantly incorrect...they are, in fact, oversimplified and are often very short. (Take for example the second answer to 1:[this post]...not wrong but not very detailed either).

I do this because I feel it would encourage new users to remain on Chem.SE and contribute further.

My question: How does the community view my actions in this regard? Should I continue doing this?

[Yes, I know my right to cast votes here is...well...purely my right, and it doesn't require any "sanction" from other users. But does my frequent upvoting of "low-quality" answers convey the wrong idea to new users? Should I, perhaps, alter or altogether stop my actions?]

I have this habit; whenever I see a new user post a "low quality" answer to a question, I tend to upvote it.

When I say "low quality" answers, I mean answers that aren't particularly helpful, or don't exactly attempt to answer the question entirely. These answers aren't blatantly incorrect...they are, in fact, oversimplified and are often very short. (Take for example the second answer to this post...not wrong but not very detailed either).

I do this because I feel it would encourage new users to remain on Chem.SE and contribute further.

My question: How does the community view my actions in this regard? Should I continue doing this?

[Yes, I know my right to cast votes here is...well...purely my right, and it doesn't require any "sanction" from other users. But does my frequent upvoting of "low-quality" answers convey the wrong idea to new users? Should I, perhaps, alter or altogether stop my actions?]

edited title
Link
paracetamol
  • 18.8k
  • 7
  • 13

Sins of a User: I upvote low quality postsanswers by new users to encourage them to contribute more...is this bad?

deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
paracetamol
  • 18.8k
  • 7
  • 13

I have this habit; whenever I see a new user post a "low quality" answer to a question, I tend to upvote it.

When I say "low quality" answers, I mean answers that aren't particularly helpful, or don't exactly attempt to answer the question entirely. These answers aren't blatantly incorrect...they are, in fact, oversimplified and are often very short. (Take for example the second answer to 1:[this post]...not wrong but not very detailed either).

I do this because I feel it would encourage new users to remain on Chem.SE and contribute further.

My question: How does the community view my actions in this regard? Should I continue doing this?

[Yes, I know my right to cast votes here is...well...purely my right, and it doesn't require any "sanction" from other users. But does my frequent upvoting of "low-quality" answers convey the wrong idea to new users? Should I, perhaps, do alter alter or altogether stop my actions?]

I have this habit; whenever I see a new user post a "low quality" answer to a question, I tend to upvote it.

When I say "low quality" answers, I mean answers that aren't particularly helpful, or don't exactly attempt to answer the question entirely. These answers aren't blatantly incorrect...they are, in fact, oversimplified and are often very short. (Take for example the second answer to 1:[this post]...not wrong but not very detailed either).

I do this because I feel it would encourage new users to remain on Chem.SE and contribute further.

My question: How does the community view my actions in this regard? Should I continue doing this?

[Yes, I know my right to cast votes here is...well...purely my right, and it doesn't require any "sanction" from other users. But does my frequent upvoting of "low-quality" answers convey the wrong idea to new users? Should I, perhaps, do alter or altogether stop my actions?]

I have this habit; whenever I see a new user post a "low quality" answer to a question, I tend to upvote it.

When I say "low quality" answers, I mean answers that aren't particularly helpful, or don't exactly attempt to answer the question entirely. These answers aren't blatantly incorrect...they are, in fact, oversimplified and are often very short. (Take for example the second answer to 1:[this post]...not wrong but not very detailed either).

I do this because I feel it would encourage new users to remain on Chem.SE and contribute further.

My question: How does the community view my actions in this regard? Should I continue doing this?

[Yes, I know my right to cast votes here is...well...purely my right, and it doesn't require any "sanction" from other users. But does my frequent upvoting of "low-quality" answers convey the wrong idea to new users? Should I, perhaps, alter or altogether stop my actions?]

tags! more tags!
Link
Loading
Source Link
paracetamol
  • 18.8k
  • 7
  • 13
Loading