Skip to main content
10 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jun 10, 2020 at 14:02 history edited CommunityBot
Commonmark migration
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:57 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://chemistry.stackexchange.com/ with https://chemistry.stackexchange.com/
Apr 9, 2017 at 9:34 history undeleted orthocresol
Mar 30, 2017 at 11:39 history deleted orthocresol via Vote
Dec 14, 2016 at 18:45 comment added orthocresol @matt_black The more I browse the front page (and closehammer questions), the more I agree with what you say.
Dec 14, 2016 at 18:42 comment added orthocresol Thank you for the comment, @Dmitry. I certainly see where you are coming from and I'll take it into consideration. This isn't meant to be a mod-team official proposal, but rather what I personally (as a user) felt. So, this is not necessarily at all representative of what we will eventually adopt.
Dec 14, 2016 at 15:11 comment added Dmitry Grigoryev Beware of that potentially be applicable to future visitors requirement. It was a close reason on SO (aka "Too localized"), and proved to be widely abused, and sometimes aimed against experts who come with very specific problems (and you actually want such people on the site).
Dec 13, 2016 at 8:50 comment added matt_black I broadly agree. But I wonder whether there is a simpler criterion which would weed out the really bad questions. I suspect that there are many questions that seek to find just an answer (usually to some exam question) but not any understanding of what reasoning produced that answer. We should automatically reject all what is the answer questions unless they are worded to seek a better insight into the understanding required to get the answer. This would weed out a lot of bad questions.
Nov 24, 2016 at 0:21 comment added Jan I think I don’t need to expand my above answer anymore; I’m happily piggybacking on this one. $+1$ doesn’t do it justice.
Nov 23, 2016 at 19:59 history answered orthocresol CC BY-SA 3.0