Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 27, 2021 at 7:25 comment added batFINGER Would concur re "imperfect reality of users" that for the sake of argument you have totally missed the point. Are you going to download the blend here blender.stackexchange.com/questions/209481/deleting-a-hook now.... in 5 months ... in 5 years time. Need I post 100s more similar links to make the case?
Jan 7, 2021 at 23:04 comment added susu I beg to disagree. I've downloaded quite a few files to further explore the answers, or play with the proposed settings (or the models or shaders) for my own needs. In the perfect world, a well documented answer would make downloading a file irrelevant, but in the imperfect reality of users that is not the case. Vanishing answers help no one once they are gone. Permanent answers might help some. Pasteall is of limited use... On top of that there are questions that are pretty much impossible to answer without the specifics of a file. Rigging or motion tracking are examples that come to mind.
Dec 17, 2020 at 17:25 comment added Mentalist That's a good point that we should be considerate of the Blend-Exchange server capacity. I try to keep the blends I post minimal in content, but I'm sure this does not occur to most new users. I also think it's case by case, and we should weigh the cost of the size against the benefit of keeping the content available.
Dec 14, 2020 at 11:27 comment added batFINGER Or build expiry into GCFs. ... then assign "immortality or execution date" via a new review queue?
Dec 13, 2020 at 18:58 comment added jachym michal Hello, bat :). I completely agree on this with you. While it's always better to have a file available, most of the files are only downloaded once/twice, so a temporary hosting seems a better idea. I'd reserve Blend-Exchange for answers only, it makes more sense there :).
Dec 2, 2020 at 12:02 history answered batFINGER CC BY-SA 4.0