Skip to main content
edited title
Link
user438383
  • 1.7k
  • 1
  • 8
  • 21

Chosing an imputation pannelpanel for SNP-Chip data?

Source Link
Dan Bolser
  • 470
  • 2
  • 10

Chosing an imputation pannel for SNP-Chip data?

I have about 1,000 SNP-Chip data (samples) that I'd like to impute over (for the purpose of having more rsIDs to match against GWAS data).

However, I don't know the ancestry of each sample / the ancestry hasn't been recorded in a reliable way.

Is there a 'quick and dirty' method to decide which imputation panel to use based on the genotype data itself? e.g.

  • sample 1 'looks' British in England and Scotland (GBR),
  • sample 2 'looks' Colombian in Medellin, Colombia (CLM),
  • sample 3 'looks' Bengali in Bangladesh (BEB), etc.

Once I know which group each sample matches most closely I can then perform imputation with the appropriate imputation panel.