Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Aug 31, 2022 at 23:00 comment added Bryan Krause Ah, I see - no, I did not think JM was the full user name, but it was enough for me to guess the specific user from my limited interaction here. I had assumed you were using it as a term of familiarity that people would typically know that person by (e.g., maybe it was their name in some other off-site channel) and didn't realize that you had used the initials to try to not fully reveal the person.
Aug 31, 2022 at 21:22 comment added Noil @BryanKrause I agree, that's why i used the initials "JM" and not his full former user name. Did you think that "JM" was his full user name or do you mean that i even shouldnt use the initials to make it more anonymous?
Aug 31, 2022 at 19:56 comment added Bryan Krause While it's a bit of a weird situation since so many of you know each other outside this site, and I don't know that there is a particular rule against using public information to ID deleted users, generally I think it's not good taste to do so. I think most of us realize that nothing is ever truly "deleted" from the internet, of course, but I think it's best to respect a user's privacy to not have their name on their account any more.
Aug 31, 2022 at 16:38 history answered Noil CC BY-SA 4.0