Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
added 1 character in body
Source Link
Maple
  • 105
  • 5

My wife often pulls a child-laden trailer (~65 lbs) behind her ebike. I'm considering adding a hitch to my bike so I can also pull the trailer.

Questions:

  1. Are thenthere any bike components other than brakes that you would expect to wear faster than other components with this setup? (Obviously brakes will wear faster when required to slow down a heavier load.)
  2. Are there certain bikes or bike components that are more suited for hauling loads like this?

My bike is a steel frame Marin Nicasio. It has a Shimano Claris drivetrain. I use it for riding dirt and gravel.

My wife often pulls a child-laden trailer (~65 lbs) behind her ebike. I'm considering adding a hitch to my bike so I can also pull the trailer.

Questions:

  1. Are then any bike components other than brakes that you would expect to wear faster than other components with this setup? (Obviously brakes will wear faster when required to slow down a heavier load.)
  2. Are there certain bikes or bike components that are more suited for hauling loads like this?

My bike is a steel frame Marin Nicasio. It has a Shimano Claris drivetrain. I use it for riding dirt and gravel.

My wife often pulls a child-laden trailer (~65 lbs) behind her ebike. I'm considering adding a hitch to my bike so I can also pull the trailer.

Questions:

  1. Are there any bike components other than brakes that you would expect to wear faster than other components with this setup? (Obviously brakes will wear faster when required to slow down a heavier load.)
  2. Are there certain bikes or bike components that are more suited for hauling loads like this?

My bike is a steel frame Marin Nicasio. It has a Shimano Claris drivetrain. I use it for riding dirt and gravel.

added 22 characters in body
Source Link
Maple
  • 105
  • 5

My wife often pulls a child-laden trailer (~65 lbs) behind her ebike. I'm considering adding a hitch to my bike so I can also pull the trailer.

Questions:

  1. Are then any bike components other than brakes that you would expect to wear faster than other components with this setup? (Obviously brakes will wear faster when required to slow down a heavier load.)
  2. Are there certain bikes or bike components that are more suited for hauling loads like this?

My bike is a steel frame Marin Nicasio. It has a Shimano Claris drivetrain. I use it for riding dirt and gravel.

My wife often pulls a child-laden trailer (~65 lbs) behind her ebike. I'm considering adding a hitch to my bike so I can also pull the trailer.

Questions:

  1. Are then any bike components other than brakes that you would expect to wear faster with this setup? (Obviously brakes will wear faster when required to slow down a heavier load.)
  2. Are there certain bikes or bike components that are more suited for hauling loads like this?

My bike is a steel frame Marin Nicasio. It has a Shimano Claris drivetrain. I use it for riding dirt and gravel.

My wife often pulls a child-laden trailer (~65 lbs) behind her ebike. I'm considering adding a hitch to my bike so I can also pull the trailer.

Questions:

  1. Are then any bike components other than brakes that you would expect to wear faster than other components with this setup? (Obviously brakes will wear faster when required to slow down a heavier load.)
  2. Are there certain bikes or bike components that are more suited for hauling loads like this?

My bike is a steel frame Marin Nicasio. It has a Shimano Claris drivetrain. I use it for riding dirt and gravel.

Source Link
Maple
  • 105
  • 5

What bike components will receive more wear when pulling a 65 lb. trailer?

My wife often pulls a child-laden trailer (~65 lbs) behind her ebike. I'm considering adding a hitch to my bike so I can also pull the trailer.

Questions:

  1. Are then any bike components other than brakes that you would expect to wear faster with this setup? (Obviously brakes will wear faster when required to slow down a heavier load.)
  2. Are there certain bikes or bike components that are more suited for hauling loads like this?

My bike is a steel frame Marin Nicasio. It has a Shimano Claris drivetrain. I use it for riding dirt and gravel.