Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • sadly, my crappy looking (and it was crappy in reality too) bike was stolen despite being locked in a very public place with high foot traffic. The nicer bike next to it was ignored. So don't rely on either of those. I made the mistake of thinking that high visibility and crappy bike meant I could get away with a thick cable rather than a u-lock, but I was wrong. Commented Sep 14, 2010 at 15:38
  • 7
    I would add: Don't use a cable lock. Bolt cutters snip them in like 5 seconds. I have 2 friends who lost bikes in very public areas in broad daylight in nice neighborhoods and the similarity is that both were using cable locks.
    – user313
    Commented Sep 14, 2010 at 16:27
  • 1
    Many people want ugly bikes because they think they are not stolen. As a consequence many thieves target ugly bikes because they are easily sold (and easy to steal by the way).
    – mouviciel
    Commented Jul 5, 2011 at 22:42
  • 1
    Down here may theives carry allen keys and a 5 sided "security" key as a matter of course. Usually they just swap an unlocked front wheel onto an unlocked frame and ride off, but people do lose parts. The cost of secure skewers is high ($80-ish) but I use them on my Rohloff/dynohub commuter bike just because it makes it so much easier to lock, and means I can use a mini D lock for near-complete locking.
    – Мסž
    Commented Jul 7, 2011 at 3:19