Skip to main content

Timeline for Can't remove my hyperglide cassette

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 3 at 7:12 comment added Nathan Knutson 100% a freewheel in the picture. I suspect they're looking at published specs on a bike that's had its wheel replaced.
Apr 2 at 19:22 comment added Vladimir F Героям слава @Criggie Thank you for the heads up. I will undelete this answer because it really looks like a freewheel.
Apr 2 at 19:21 history undeleted Vladimir F Героям слава
Apr 2 at 18:25 comment added Criggie Image definitely looks like a freewheel to me - this answer seems correct. But googling OP's model number returns bike.shimano.com/en-EU/product/component/shimano/… which is a freehub. I suspect they've misread the model number, or its a really old part with a similar model number.
Apr 2 at 12:39 history deleted Vladimir F Героям слава via Vote
Apr 2 at 12:38 comment added Vladimir F Героям слава Indeed, it really does not look like lockrings I am used to, but I stand corrected.
Apr 2 at 12:25 comment added Michael But it looks like the SHIMANO FH-TY500 hub has a freehub? It’s strange because the thing in OP’s photo doesn’t look like the freehub cassette lockrings I’m used to but it certainly looks like it has the internal “teeth” for a cassette lockring tool.
Apr 2 at 12:17 history answered Vladimir F Героям слава CC BY-SA 4.0