Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • 6
    Definitely take the saddle off. I learned that one several years ago after a 7 mile ride home sans saddle.
    – user313
    Commented Sep 14, 2010 at 16:11
  • 1
    I made this one community wiki; the way the question is structured (asking for tips) precludes a single answer that will address the question completely. Commented Sep 14, 2010 at 19:18
  • Taking your saddle off is less important if you don't have quick release saddle. Many bikes have them now, but mine doesn't. Actually took me be surprise but after I thought about it, it made sense. How many times do you actually adjust your saddle? Just one more thing to get stolen in my mind. If somebody is going to use tools to get at the saddle, try probably won't stop at the saddle. A single allen key is all that's required to take most front forks.
    – Kibbee
    Commented Dec 6, 2012 at 13:30
  • 1
    This whole thread and that video make me never want to let go of my bike ever again. Screw locking it up, I'm strapping it to my backpack!
    – Oli
    Commented Jan 21, 2013 at 23:10
  • 1
    One item not mentioned is have a receipt with the serial number. Won't stop theft but aids recovery. I had a bike impounded by the city for locking in the wrong spot and I had to show a receipt to get it back.
    – paparazzo
    Commented Jun 20, 2014 at 19:37