Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 7 at 15:41 comment added Warren Burton My mistake. In this case (hollowtech) NDS preload loads the crank onto the splines but has no influence on the BB.
Mar 6 at 17:29 answer added Weiwen Ng timeline score: 2
Mar 6 at 11:20 comment added Weiwen Ng NDS means non-drive side. I.e. the left. It’s the cap that screws into the crank spindle, somewhat analogous to your headset top cap.
Mar 6 at 9:16 comment added Matt I did clean out the dirt and it is properly aligned. I don't know what an NDS cap is. However, since posting this question I was inspecting it further and (duh!) I found that part of the grinding feeling is coming from the pedal bearings; also the chain is super stretched and not sitting on the chainring properly - so no wonder there is all this grinding! I will fix these first but that's probably it...
Mar 6 at 8:29 comment added Warren Burton Too much preload on the NDS cap? That only needs to be just finger tight.
Mar 6 at 8:27 comment added Burki Did you install it using a tool to ensure proper alignment? And have you checked for any dirt between the cranks and the BB ?
S Mar 6 at 7:09 review First questions
Mar 6 at 9:22
S Mar 6 at 7:09 history asked Matt CC BY-SA 4.0