Skip to main content

Timeline for Fitting a larger bike frame

Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0

5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 9 at 17:02 comment added curiousruby After riding for a few months now with a 60 mm stem I like the way it rides. It feels different but comfortable. I don't feel noticeable difference in handling due to shorter stem. I like the upright riding position. I have done several 20 mile rides and don't feel much difference between this and my regular bike
Dec 19, 2023 at 7:35 comment added Michael So you raised the handlebars? I’d kind of expect you to put it as low as possible because the larger framesize already raises it by ~5cm. Don’t use the fore-aft adjustment of the saddle to compensate for the long top tube, that’s not its purpose.
Dec 19, 2023 at 5:52 comment added curiousruby Thanks for the valuable inputs. I have already reversed the direction of the stem and added a spacer to raise the handlebar. This has made the biggest difference. I have also tried adjusting the saddle forward, but it gets uncomfortable beyond a point. I will try reducing the stem to a 50mm and how it handles.
Dec 18, 2023 at 7:31 comment added DoNuT I assume a significantly shorter stem will also tamper with the bike's handling characteristics on top of everything that's already off.
Dec 18, 2023 at 7:21 history answered Michael CC BY-SA 4.0