Skip to main content
Fix up image link, minor copyediting
Source Link
Criggie
  • 128k
  • 15
  • 186
  • 439

I had a crash a couple of weeks ago with my BH Quartz. The front wheel got caught in a crack in the road, I heard a crack and I fell on the side. I was worried that the frame cracked, but I couldn't find anything. I kept tapping and pressing every inch of the fork and tubes, can't feel any weakness. I think it was just the wheel cracking, not the fork, but I don't know if I can be completely sure of that. The

The other thing is that there is a chip on the chain stay, and it looks a bit deeper than I initially thought. I'll attach a pic. 

wheel damagewheel damage   

frame damage What

What do you guys think? I want to keep riding this bike and got new wheels and a new derailleur, but maybe I am being too optimistic? 

This is the second time I crashcrashed this bike, first time was two years ago and I didn't see any damage.

I had a crash a couple of weeks ago with my BH Quartz. The front wheel got caught in a crack in the road, I heard a crack and I fell on the side. I was worried that the frame cracked, but I couldn't find anything. I kept tapping and pressing every inch of the fork and tubes, can't feel any weakness. I think it was just the wheel cracking, not the fork, but I don't know if I can be completely sure of that. The other thing is that there is a chip on the chain stay, and it looks a bit deeper than I initially thought. I'll attach a pic.wheel damage  frame damage What do you guys think? I want to keep riding this bike and got new wheels and a new derailleur, but maybe I am being too optimistic? This is the second time I crash this bike, first time was two years ago and I didn't see any damage.

I had a crash a couple of weeks ago with my BH Quartz. The front wheel got caught in a crack in the road, I heard a crack and I fell on the side. I was worried that the frame cracked, but couldn't find anything. I kept tapping and pressing every inch of the fork and tubes, can't feel any weakness. I think it was just the wheel cracking, not the fork, but I don't know if I can be completely sure of that.

The other thing is that there is a chip on the chain stay, and it looks a bit deeper than I initially thought. 

wheel damage 

frame damage

What do you think? I want to keep riding this bike and got new wheels and a new derailleur, but maybe I am being too optimistic? 

This is the second time I crashed this bike, first time was two years ago and I didn't see any damage.

Source Link

Carbon frame damaged?

I had a crash a couple of weeks ago with my BH Quartz. The front wheel got caught in a crack in the road, I heard a crack and I fell on the side. I was worried that the frame cracked, but I couldn't find anything. I kept tapping and pressing every inch of the fork and tubes, can't feel any weakness. I think it was just the wheel cracking, not the fork, but I don't know if I can be completely sure of that. The other thing is that there is a chip on the chain stay, and it looks a bit deeper than I initially thought. I'll attach a pic.wheel damage frame damage What do you guys think? I want to keep riding this bike and got new wheels and a new derailleur, but maybe I am being too optimistic? This is the second time I crash this bike, first time was two years ago and I didn't see any damage.