Skip to main content
16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 13, 2017 at 12:32 history edited CommunityBot
replaced http://bicycles.stackexchange.com/ with https://bicycles.stackexchange.com/
Apr 25, 2012 at 15:36 comment added Daniel R Hicks I think an important point is being missed here. The picture is of a single fixie cog, not a regular multi-cog cassette. With the standard cassette you'll experience shifting problems when the cassette is worn, and the teeth will tend to wear away to a point, not develop the long, narrow shape pictured.
Apr 25, 2012 at 15:02 history edited heltonbiker CC BY-SA 3.0
added 714 characters in body
Apr 25, 2012 at 1:03 comment added user313 This is a perfect example of letting the thing break before you get around to pretty much normal maintenance.
Apr 24, 2012 at 18:29 comment added zenbike Thank you. I'll remove the downvote when you remove references that make it appear that the cog is usable and safe.
Apr 24, 2012 at 16:18 comment added heltonbiker @zenbike Sorry, I've noticed now that you actually were referring to the prices, not the country or whatever. Bike parts are actually overpriced here. That is a potential reason not to replace parts TOO often. Another one is a sort of anti-consumerism point of view. Even so, I recognize of course the sprocket is way too worn, and I edited my answer.
Apr 24, 2012 at 16:02 comment added zenbike I lived in Sao Paulo. I have good friends living there now. But the prices for bike parts are ridiculous. Usually 3 times what I'd pay in the States, and double what I pay in Dubai. It is also rated as the most expensive country in the world to buy electronics. It not a dig. It's a fact, and you shouldn't be offended by the truth. I didn't say Brazil was ridiculous. I said prices of parts were. Tell me I'm wrong, if you can. And I'm sorry, but no, that cog doesn't work "flawlessly". I respectfully submit that it might have been some time since you've ridden something flawless to compare it to.
Apr 24, 2012 at 15:55 history edited heltonbiker CC BY-SA 3.0
added 238 characters in body
Apr 24, 2012 at 15:52 comment added heltonbiker @zenbike. I see your point, but what I can say is that: since I am replacing the chains often, this crappy looking sprocket WORKS FLAWLESSLY. Never skipped in its whole worklife (notice the teeth are not ramped). Fell off only when I didn't compensate for chainslack, and even so very seldom. (and, I don't think it's good netiquette to write 'ridiculous' and someone's country's name in the same sentence. No offense!)
Apr 24, 2012 at 14:51 comment added zenbike And last, why would anyone want to ride something that is so far damaged? You said, " I was considering it just a matter of proper working...". Isn't that a good enough reason by itself? Riding is supposed be a release from all the nonsense of the day. My bike is not great, but it's perfectly tuned and maintained, precisely because I want the bike to disappear and the ride to be what I notice. I don't want to feel like I might not get to ride home at all.
Apr 24, 2012 at 14:49 comment added zenbike The the failure mode is simple. First, your chain has got to be skipping and jumping all over the place. At some point, it will come off. If it does it under load, it risks damage to frame and wheel since the chain will wrap and bind around the hub and into spokes. If you are unlucky enough to be in a descent at speed at the time, your hospital bills will far outweigh even Brazil's ridiculous prices on bike parts. Also, at some point, teeth will break off the cog, which will force that same chain drop immediately. Frankly, I'm shocked that it still rolls.
Apr 24, 2012 at 14:05 comment added heltonbiker @zenbike: I am genuinely curious: what is the expected mechanism of accident that might happen? I was considering it just a matter of proper working, but if there is a known dangerous failure mode for that, I would surely like to know.
Apr 24, 2012 at 10:51 comment added Daniel R Hicks The image, of course, is of a fixed cog, and as such is not going to have problems with missed shifts (and will not begin skipping until the teeth begin to go). Totally different from a multi-cog cassette/cluster.
Apr 24, 2012 at 3:45 comment added zenbike Measuring the chain and replacing it at proper intervals will allow your cassette to last far longer, but the cog pictured above is an accident waiting to happen. You need to examine your cogs and chain rings each time you change the chain. The photo above is the most extreme example of worn cog teeth I've ever seen. It should have been replaced at least 15000 km ago.
Apr 24, 2012 at 3:42 comment added zenbike -1 Doesn't answer the question. Advocates using dangerously worn and damaged equipment.
Apr 24, 2012 at 3:30 history answered heltonbiker CC BY-SA 3.0