Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 1, 2023 at 0:00 comment added Jeff Here's the link to the BB found on the new Emondas. This page came from a hyperlink on the specs page of the Emondas ALR. It's a T47 threaded BB.
Oct 31, 2023 at 17:13 comment added Cam @DoNuT I figured the shops would have but I will try to check.
Oct 31, 2023 at 13:45 comment added DoNuT OK that narrows it down a bit, did you check the chainring bolts are properly tightened? It is yet another shot in the dark, though ....
Oct 31, 2023 at 13:25 comment added Cam @DoNuT Yep the bottom bracket is a Praxis T47
Oct 31, 2023 at 13:10 comment added DoNuT Call me crazy but I just dug out this link from my browser history 3 hours ago and it now it is a 404, I swear the page for the ALR 6 listed a Shimano BB71 and that's why I went with Pressfit. If OP has a 2023 model with T47, he can be glad about it. ;)
Oct 31, 2023 at 12:51 comment added Andrew Henle @DoNuT Welcome to press-fit bottom brackets... Funny how it's all but impossible to find out what bottom bracket the Trek Emonda ALR actually uses. It's almost as if they know press-fit bottom brackets are NOT a selling point. It's buried in the description instead of clearly spelled out in the specs...
Oct 31, 2023 at 9:34 comment added DoNuT I feel guilty of always pulling my old thread out when somebody asks this question, but here we go - bicycles.stackexchange.com/questions/89316/… - in my case, I had it as creaks and clicking, what temporarily helped was my LBS taking out and greasing the BB but recently, it tends to come back at lower temperatures and stays away when it is warm. Please note my bike is carbon and my best guess is that the BB hole isn't perfectly round but I'm not sure if I want to go down the route of forcing my LBS to sand it or just live with it.
Oct 31, 2023 at 8:59 comment added Edmundas I would check if bottom headset bearing is clean. On my MTB, when sand gets into BB and headset, flexing of crankset and fork while pedaling creates clicks all over. I heard that precise machining of wheel hubs might create micro movement and clicking noise under load. Or as a @Noise said, probably defective frame/fork.
Oct 31, 2023 at 8:04 comment added Noise Defective frame maybe. I've encountered forks that were exchanged by a big manufacturer due to clicking. They were safe but made a little noise while riding.
Oct 31, 2023 at 4:33 comment added Paul H Did you but this bike from a local bike shop. Such shops, especially the the Trek-owned store, typically will be very helpful with new bikes such as this.
Oct 31, 2023 at 4:20 history edited Ted Hohl CC BY-SA 4.0
Added noise tag. Minor edits.
S Oct 31, 2023 at 3:30 review First questions
Oct 31, 2023 at 4:20
S Oct 31, 2023 at 3:30 history asked Cam CC BY-SA 4.0