Skip to main content
Added noise tag. Minor edits.
Source Link
Ted Hohl
  • 6.4k
  • 2
  • 21
  • 45

I have an annoying ticking sound that I need some help with. I've read through a lot of suggestions online and 2two bike shops have failed to solve it.

The bike is a brand new custom build (Trek Emonda ALR frame with mostly carbon upgraded parts) with less than 500 miles on it so far. The single tick occurs only when the right pedal starts to come over the top past 12 o clock in the pedal stroke. It is louder when the bike is under more load like when riding up an incline. It occurs when I wear regular shoes and ride the bike, so it is not my cleats. It occurs when sitting or standing or when not holding the handlebars. The shop has tried swapping pedals and even reinstalled the bottom bracket. I've swapped wheels and it still happens. I recently was able to recreate the "tick" sound while sitting on the bike and pressing down on my right pedal while holding the front brake to resist some forward movement. It doesn't happen if I do this and use the back brake or left pedal instead. It also doesn't seem to be an issue until a few minutes into a ride but I'm not sure what that could mean. Any suggestions would be great as to what this could be

I have an annoying ticking sound that I need some help with. I've read through a lot of suggestions online and 2 bike shops have failed to solve it.

The bike is a brand new custom build (Trek Emonda ALR frame with mostly carbon upgraded parts) with less than 500 miles on it so far. The single tick occurs only when the right pedal starts to come over the top past 12 o clock in the pedal stroke. It is louder when the bike is under more load like up an incline. It occurs when I wear regular shoes and ride the bike, so it is not my cleats. It occurs when sitting or standing or when not holding the handlebars. The shop has tried swapping pedals and even reinstalled the bottom bracket. I've swapped wheels and it still happens. I recently was able to recreate the "tick" sound while sitting on the bike and pressing down on my right pedal while holding the front brake to resist some forward movement. It doesn't happen if I do this and use the back brake or left pedal instead. It also doesn't seem to be an issue until a few minutes into a ride but I'm not sure what that could mean. Any suggestions would be great as to what this could be

I have an annoying ticking sound that I need some help with. I've read through a lot of suggestions online and two bike shops have failed to solve it.

The bike is a brand new custom build (Trek Emonda ALR frame with mostly carbon upgraded parts) with less than 500 miles on it so far. The single tick occurs only when the right pedal starts to come over the top past 12 o clock in the pedal stroke. It is louder when the bike is under more load like when riding up an incline. It occurs when I wear regular shoes and ride the bike, so it is not my cleats. It occurs when sitting or standing or when not holding the handlebars. The shop has tried swapping pedals and even reinstalled the bottom bracket. I've swapped wheels and it still happens. I recently was able to recreate the "tick" sound while sitting on the bike and pressing down on my right pedal while holding the front brake to resist some forward movement. It doesn't happen if I do this and use the back brake or left pedal instead. It also doesn't seem to be an issue until a few minutes into a ride but I'm not sure what that could mean. Any suggestions would be great as to what this could be

Source Link
Cam
  • 41
  • 2

What could the source of this ticking sound be?

I have an annoying ticking sound that I need some help with. I've read through a lot of suggestions online and 2 bike shops have failed to solve it.

The bike is a brand new custom build (Trek Emonda ALR frame with mostly carbon upgraded parts) with less than 500 miles on it so far. The single tick occurs only when the right pedal starts to come over the top past 12 o clock in the pedal stroke. It is louder when the bike is under more load like up an incline. It occurs when I wear regular shoes and ride the bike, so it is not my cleats. It occurs when sitting or standing or when not holding the handlebars. The shop has tried swapping pedals and even reinstalled the bottom bracket. I've swapped wheels and it still happens. I recently was able to recreate the "tick" sound while sitting on the bike and pressing down on my right pedal while holding the front brake to resist some forward movement. It doesn't happen if I do this and use the back brake or left pedal instead. It also doesn't seem to be an issue until a few minutes into a ride but I'm not sure what that could mean. Any suggestions would be great as to what this could be