Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
Minor clean-up
Source Link
DavidW
  • 5.2k
  • 5
  • 25
  • 41

Can I trust my bike’s frame after I was hit by a car and not sure if my frame is cracked. Can I trust my bike’s framethere's no visible cracking?

I was waiting at a red light and the person behind me hit me. Her car ran over my rear wheel crushing it and over my my frame. I have checked the frame were there are indications of her car but do not see any cracks. 

I tested with a coin and did not hear anything and had my bike shop look at it. When I am riding I can reach speeds up to 50 mph. I have not ridden my bike since being hit for fear of underliningunderlying cracks I cannot see. Can I trust my frame when I am reaching at such high speeds? 

I’m working with the driver’s insurance company and afraid that if I can’t prove a crack then I cannot get approved for a replacement. What is the right approach to ask for what is needed?

I was hit by a car and not sure if my frame is cracked. Can I trust my bike’s frame

I was waiting at a red light and the person behind me hit me. Her car ran over my rear wheel crushing it and over my my frame. I have checked the frame were there are indications of her car but do not see any cracks. I tested with a coin and did not hear anything and had my bike shop look at it. When I am riding I can reach speeds up to 50 mph. I have not ridden my bike since being hit for fear of underlining cracks I cannot see. Can I trust my frame when I am reaching at such high speeds? I’m working with the driver’s insurance company and afraid that if I can’t prove a crack then I cannot get approved for a replacement. What is the right approach to ask for what is needed?

Can I trust my bike’s frame after I was hit by a car if there's no visible cracking?

I was waiting at a red light and the person behind me hit me. Her car ran over my rear wheel crushing it and over my frame. I have checked the frame were there are indications of her car but do not see any cracks. 

I tested with a coin and did not hear anything and had my bike shop look at it. When I am riding I can reach speeds up to 50 mph. I have not ridden my bike since being hit for fear of underlying cracks I cannot see. Can I trust my frame when I am reaching at such high speeds? 

I’m working with the driver’s insurance company and afraid that if I can’t prove a crack then I cannot get approved for a replacement. What is the right approach to ask for what is needed?

Source Link

I was hit by a car and not sure if my frame is cracked. Can I trust my bike’s frame

I was waiting at a red light and the person behind me hit me. Her car ran over my rear wheel crushing it and over my my frame. I have checked the frame were there are indications of her car but do not see any cracks. I tested with a coin and did not hear anything and had my bike shop look at it. When I am riding I can reach speeds up to 50 mph. I have not ridden my bike since being hit for fear of underlining cracks I cannot see. Can I trust my frame when I am reaching at such high speeds? I’m working with the driver’s insurance company and afraid that if I can’t prove a crack then I cannot get approved for a replacement. What is the right approach to ask for what is needed?