Skip to main content
advise -> advice
Source Link
domdomegg
  • 153
  • 1
  • 7

Recently, my rear axle was broken. I purchased a new axle online, which seemed to match the dimensions of my old one.

However, I don't think I've installed it correctly, as there seems to be a gap between the internal lock nut and frame which I don't think should be there (but I'm not sure). Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find any images online to check how this should look.

I'd appreciate adviseadvice on how to repair this correctly.

Current state

photo of axle installed with axle showing between outer lock nut and inner lock nut

diagram showing same as photo

Options

I think either:

  1. I need to insert extra spacers so that the inner lock nut is against the frame
  2. I need to add another internal lock ring so that the outer lock nut presses against something (in which case, maybe I can remove the spacers altogether?)
  3. I've installed it correctly
  4. I need to do something else

Option 1

diagram of bike axle with extra spacer so that the internal lock nut is against the frame

Option 2

diagram of bike axle with extra internal lock nut while there is axle showing between the internal lock nuts

Recently, my rear axle was broken. I purchased a new axle online, which seemed to match the dimensions of my old one.

However, I don't think I've installed it correctly, as there seems to be a gap between the internal lock nut and frame which I don't think should be there (but I'm not sure). Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find any images online to check how this should look.

I'd appreciate advise on how to repair this correctly.

Current state

photo of axle installed with axle showing between outer lock nut and inner lock nut

diagram showing same as photo

Options

I think either:

  1. I need to insert extra spacers so that the inner lock nut is against the frame
  2. I need to add another internal lock ring so that the outer lock nut presses against something (in which case, maybe I can remove the spacers altogether?)
  3. I've installed it correctly
  4. I need to do something else

Option 1

diagram of bike axle with extra spacer so that the internal lock nut is against the frame

Option 2

diagram of bike axle with extra internal lock nut while there is axle showing between the internal lock nuts

Recently, my rear axle was broken. I purchased a new axle online, which seemed to match the dimensions of my old one.

However, I don't think I've installed it correctly, as there seems to be a gap between the internal lock nut and frame which I don't think should be there (but I'm not sure). Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find any images online to check how this should look.

I'd appreciate advice on how to repair this correctly.

Current state

photo of axle installed with axle showing between outer lock nut and inner lock nut

diagram showing same as photo

Options

I think either:

  1. I need to insert extra spacers so that the inner lock nut is against the frame
  2. I need to add another internal lock ring so that the outer lock nut presses against something (in which case, maybe I can remove the spacers altogether?)
  3. I've installed it correctly
  4. I need to do something else

Option 1

diagram of bike axle with extra spacer so that the internal lock nut is against the frame

Option 2

diagram of bike axle with extra internal lock nut while there is axle showing between the internal lock nuts

Source Link
domdomegg
  • 153
  • 1
  • 7

Axle installation spacer placement / usage

Recently, my rear axle was broken. I purchased a new axle online, which seemed to match the dimensions of my old one.

However, I don't think I've installed it correctly, as there seems to be a gap between the internal lock nut and frame which I don't think should be there (but I'm not sure). Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find any images online to check how this should look.

I'd appreciate advise on how to repair this correctly.

Current state

photo of axle installed with axle showing between outer lock nut and inner lock nut

diagram showing same as photo

Options

I think either:

  1. I need to insert extra spacers so that the inner lock nut is against the frame
  2. I need to add another internal lock ring so that the outer lock nut presses against something (in which case, maybe I can remove the spacers altogether?)
  3. I've installed it correctly
  4. I need to do something else

Option 1

diagram of bike axle with extra spacer so that the internal lock nut is against the frame

Option 2

diagram of bike axle with extra internal lock nut while there is axle showing between the internal lock nuts