Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackBicycles/status/1622429930549125123
clarified title.
Link
MaplePanda
  • 16.4k
  • 2
  • 37
  • 80

What is exactly is the "clutch" doing on a Shimano 8100M8100 rear derailleur?

added 4 characters in body
Source Link
nightrider
  • 7.9k
  • 2
  • 22
  • 56

My new Shimano 12s XT 8100 rear derailleur has the switch with on and off positions. From that I found on the web, it is a "clutch" and I must turn it off when removing the wheel. I can shift the gears with the switch in both positions without noticing much difference. Web says the clutch makes the gear shifting better, still.

I was not able to find technical explanation, how does this this clutch actually work and how it influences the gear shifting. A clutch like in a car would disengage the engine (me?) from the wheels. It does not look doing anything the like. What it technically does?

My new Shimano XT 8100 rear derailleur has the switch with on and off positions. From that I found on the web, it is a "clutch" and I must turn it off when removing the wheel. I can shift the gears with the switch in both positions without noticing much difference. Web says the clutch makes the gear shifting better, still.

I was not able to find technical explanation, how does this this clutch actually work and how it influences the gear shifting. A clutch like in a car would disengage the engine (me?) from the wheels. It does not look doing anything the like. What it technically does?

My new Shimano 12s XT 8100 rear derailleur has the switch with on and off positions. From that I found on the web, it is a "clutch" and I must turn it off when removing the wheel. I can shift the gears with the switch in both positions without noticing much difference. Web says the clutch makes the gear shifting better, still.

I was not able to find technical explanation, how does this this clutch actually work and how it influences the gear shifting. A clutch like in a car would disengage the engine (me?) from the wheels. It does not look doing anything the like. What it technically does?

Became Hot Network Question
added 8 characters in body
Source Link
nightrider
  • 7.9k
  • 2
  • 22
  • 56

My new Shimano XT 8100 rear derailleur has the switch with on and off positions. From that I found on the web, it is a "clutch" and I must turn it off when removing the wheel. I can shift the gears with the switch in both positions without noticing much difference. Web says the clutch makes the gear shifting better, still.

I was not able to find technical explanation, how does this this clutch actually work and how it influences the gear shifting. A clutch like in a car would disengage the engine (me?) from the wheels. It does not look doing anything the like. What it technically does?

My new Shimano 8100 derailleur has the switch with on and off positions. From that I found on the web, it is a "clutch" and I must turn it off when removing the wheel. I can shift the gears with the switch in both positions without noticing much difference. Web says the clutch makes the gear shifting better, still.

I was not able to find technical explanation, how does this this clutch actually work and how it influences the gear shifting. A clutch like in a car would disengage the engine (me?) from the wheels. It does not look doing anything the like. What it technically does?

My new Shimano XT 8100 rear derailleur has the switch with on and off positions. From that I found on the web, it is a "clutch" and I must turn it off when removing the wheel. I can shift the gears with the switch in both positions without noticing much difference. Web says the clutch makes the gear shifting better, still.

I was not able to find technical explanation, how does this this clutch actually work and how it influences the gear shifting. A clutch like in a car would disengage the engine (me?) from the wheels. It does not look doing anything the like. What it technically does?

Source Link
nightrider
  • 7.9k
  • 2
  • 22
  • 56
Loading