Skip to main content
added 206 characters in body
Source Link
Sam7919
  • 9.6k
  • 4
  • 32
  • 98

The boundaries between the different types of road bikes are not firm. If the boundaries are indeed fluid, then one bike builder might label a bike as, say, a racing bike, but it would in fact not be a pure racing bike. I'd like to understand what will reveal the bike type, with the objective of being able to determine where exactly a bike fits on the continuum of bike types.

To reach this understanding, I will provide you with numbers from a geometry table for a road bike, without specifying brand, model, or type of bike.

Although I am asking you to tell me what type of road bike it is, I don't really care about that answer. I extracted the numbers myself and I know the (purported) type. What I do care about is your explanation: How did you reach your conclusion? What in the numbers revealed the road bike type?

  • Wheel Size 700C
  • A - Seat Angle 73.3°
  • B - Top Tube (mm) 570
  • C - Head Angle 73.0°
  • D - Offset/Fork Rake (mm) 45
  • E - Head Tube (mm) 170
  • F - BB Drop (mm) 68
  • RC - Chainstay Length (mm) 415
  • FC- Front Centre (mm) 598
  • Stack (mm) 562
  • Reach (mm) 396
  • WB - Wheelbase (mm) 1004
  • G - Seat Tube C-Top (mm) 530

geometry key

Related

The boundaries between the different types of road bikes are not firm. If the boundaries are indeed fluid, then one bike builder might label a bike as, say, a racing bike, but it would in fact not be a pure racing bike. I'd like to understand what will reveal the bike type, with the objective of being able to determine where exactly a bike fits on the continuum of bike types.

To reach this understanding, I will provide you with numbers from a geometry table for a road bike, without specifying brand, model, or type of bike.

Although I am asking you to tell me what type of road bike it is, I don't really care about that answer. I extracted the numbers myself and I know the (purported) type. What I do care about is your explanation: How did you reach your conclusion? What in the numbers revealed the road bike type?

  • Wheel Size 700C
  • A - Seat Angle 73.3°
  • B - Top Tube (mm) 570
  • C - Head Angle 73.0°
  • D - Offset/Fork Rake (mm) 45
  • E - Head Tube (mm) 170
  • F - BB Drop (mm) 68
  • RC - Chainstay Length (mm) 415
  • FC- Front Centre (mm) 598
  • Stack (mm) 562
  • Reach (mm) 396
  • WB - Wheelbase (mm) 1004
  • G - Seat Tube C-Top (mm) 530

geometry key

Related

The boundaries between the different types of road bikes are not firm. If the boundaries are indeed fluid, then one bike builder might label a bike as, say, a racing bike, but it would in fact not be a pure racing bike. I'd like to understand what will reveal the bike type, with the objective of being able to determine where exactly a bike fits on the continuum of bike types.

To reach this understanding, I will provide you with numbers from a geometry table for a road bike, without specifying brand, model, or type of bike.

Although I am asking you to tell me what type of road bike it is, I don't really care about that answer. I extracted the numbers myself and I know the (purported) type. What I do care about is your explanation: How did you reach your conclusion? What in the numbers revealed the road bike type?

  • Wheel Size 700C
  • A - Seat Angle 73.3°
  • B - Top Tube (mm) 570
  • C - Head Angle 73.0°
  • D - Offset/Fork Rake (mm) 45
  • E - Head Tube (mm) 170
  • F - BB Drop (mm) 68
  • RC - Chainstay Length (mm) 415
  • FC- Front Centre (mm) 598
  • Stack (mm) 562
  • Reach (mm) 396
  • WB - Wheelbase (mm) 1004
  • G - Seat Tube C-Top (mm) 530

geometry key

Related
added 76 characters in body
Source Link
Sam7919
  • 9.6k
  • 4
  • 32
  • 98

The boundaries between the different types of road bikes are not firm. If the boundaries are indeed fluid, then one bike builder might label a bike as, say, a racing bike, but it would in fact not be a pure racing bike. I'd like to understand what will reveal the bike type, with the objective of being able to determine where exactly a bike fits on the continuum of bike types.

To reach this understanding, I will provide you with numbers from a geometry table for a road bike, without specifying brand, model, or type of bike.

Although I am asking you to tell me what type of road bike it is, I don't really care about that answer. I extracted the numbers myself and I know the (purported) type. What I do care about is your explanation: How did you reach your conclusion? What in the numbers revealed the road bike type?

  • Wheel Size 700C
  • A - Seat Angle 73.3°
  • B - Top Tube (mm) 570
  • C - Head Angle 73.0°
  • D - Offset/Fork Rake (mm) 45
  • E - Head Tube (mm) 170
  • F - BB Drop (mm) 68
  • RC - Chainstay Length (mm) 415
  • FC- Front Centre (mm) 598
  • Stack (mm) 562
  • Reach (mm) 396
  • WB - Wheelbase (mm) 1004
  • G - Seat Tube C-Top (mm) 530

geometry key

Related

The boundaries between the different types of road bikes are not firm. If the boundaries are indeed fluid, then one bike builder might label a bike as, say, a racing bike, but it would in fact not be a pure racing bike. I'd like to understand what will reveal the bike type, with the objective of being able to determine where exactly a bike fits on the continuum of bike types.

To reach this understanding, I will provide you with numbers from a geometry table for a road bike, without specifying brand, model, or type of bike.

Although I am asking you to tell me what type of road bike it is, I don't really care about that answer. I extracted the numbers myself and I know the (purported) type. What I do care about is your explanation: How did you reach your conclusion? What in the numbers revealed the road bike type?

  • Wheel Size 700C
  • A - Seat Angle 73.3°
  • B - Top Tube (mm) 570
  • C - Head Angle 73.0°
  • D - Offset/Fork Rake (mm) 45
  • E - Head Tube (mm) 170
  • F - BB Drop (mm) 68
  • RC - Chainstay Length (mm) 415
  • FC- Front Centre (mm) 598
  • Stack (mm) 562
  • Reach (mm) 396
  • WB - Wheelbase (mm) 1004
  • G - Seat Tube C-Top (mm) 530

geometry key

The boundaries between the different types of road bikes are not firm. If the boundaries are indeed fluid, then one bike builder might label a bike as, say, a racing bike, but it would in fact not be a pure racing bike. I'd like to understand what will reveal the bike type, with the objective of being able to determine where exactly a bike fits on the continuum of bike types.

To reach this understanding, I will provide you with numbers from a geometry table for a road bike, without specifying brand, model, or type of bike.

Although I am asking you to tell me what type of road bike it is, I don't really care about that answer. I extracted the numbers myself and I know the (purported) type. What I do care about is your explanation: How did you reach your conclusion? What in the numbers revealed the road bike type?

  • Wheel Size 700C
  • A - Seat Angle 73.3°
  • B - Top Tube (mm) 570
  • C - Head Angle 73.0°
  • D - Offset/Fork Rake (mm) 45
  • E - Head Tube (mm) 170
  • F - BB Drop (mm) 68
  • RC - Chainstay Length (mm) 415
  • FC- Front Centre (mm) 598
  • Stack (mm) 562
  • Reach (mm) 396
  • WB - Wheelbase (mm) 1004
  • G - Seat Tube C-Top (mm) 530

geometry key

Related
Source Link
Sam7919
  • 9.6k
  • 4
  • 32
  • 98

How do you conclude the type of a road bike from a geometry table—using one specific example?

The boundaries between the different types of road bikes are not firm. If the boundaries are indeed fluid, then one bike builder might label a bike as, say, a racing bike, but it would in fact not be a pure racing bike. I'd like to understand what will reveal the bike type, with the objective of being able to determine where exactly a bike fits on the continuum of bike types.

To reach this understanding, I will provide you with numbers from a geometry table for a road bike, without specifying brand, model, or type of bike.

Although I am asking you to tell me what type of road bike it is, I don't really care about that answer. I extracted the numbers myself and I know the (purported) type. What I do care about is your explanation: How did you reach your conclusion? What in the numbers revealed the road bike type?

  • Wheel Size 700C
  • A - Seat Angle 73.3°
  • B - Top Tube (mm) 570
  • C - Head Angle 73.0°
  • D - Offset/Fork Rake (mm) 45
  • E - Head Tube (mm) 170
  • F - BB Drop (mm) 68
  • RC - Chainstay Length (mm) 415
  • FC- Front Centre (mm) 598
  • Stack (mm) 562
  • Reach (mm) 396
  • WB - Wheelbase (mm) 1004
  • G - Seat Tube C-Top (mm) 530

geometry key