Skip to main content

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike. AlumninumAluminum vs Carbon vs Steel?

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike.

What is better: AlumninumAluminum vs Carbon vs Steel ?

I don't care regarding the weight +/- 2-3 kg.

The durability is important for me.] I know that it's very difficult to repair an aluminiumaluminum. Also to repair carbon seems to be easier, but it's not cheap. Seems to more than a half price of the used entry level road bicycle.

The steel (chromoly), seems to be more durable and easier to repair, but it's relatively old model without modern derailleurs. And probably to find replacement might be a bit tricky.

What dohave I miss / wrong missed? Any brand recommendtations recommendations?

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike. Alumninum vs Carbon vs Steel?

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike.

What is better: Alumninum vs Carbon vs Steel ?

I don't care regarding the weight +/- 2-3 kg.

The durability is important for me.] I know that it's very difficult to repair an aluminium. Also to repair carbon seems to be easier, but it's not cheap. Seems to more than a half price of the used entry level road bicycle.

The steel (chromoly), seems to be more durable and easier to repair, but it's relatively old model without modern derailleurs. And probably to find replacement might be a bit tricky.

What do I miss / wrong ? Any brand recommendtations ?

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike. Aluminum vs Carbon vs Steel?

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike.

What is better: Aluminum vs Carbon vs Steel ?

I don't care regarding the weight +/- 2-3 kg.

The durability is important for me.] I know that it's very difficult to repair an aluminum. Also to repair carbon seems to be easier, but it's not cheap. Seems to more than a half price of the used entry level road bicycle.

The steel (chromoly), seems to be more durable and easier to repair, but it's relatively old model without modern derailleurs. And probably to find replacement might be a bit tricky.

What have I missed? Any brand recommendations?

Tweeted twitter.com/StackBicycles/status/1562046998508888065
Became Hot Network Question
Source Link
Michael D
  • 840
  • 8
  • 19

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike. Alumninum vs Carbon vs Steel?

Consideration for buying a used entry-level road bike.

What is better: Alumninum vs Carbon vs Steel ?

I don't care regarding the weight +/- 2-3 kg.

The durability is important for me.] I know that it's very difficult to repair an aluminium. Also to repair carbon seems to be easier, but it's not cheap. Seems to more than a half price of the used entry level road bicycle.

The steel (chromoly), seems to be more durable and easier to repair, but it's relatively old model without modern derailleurs. And probably to find replacement might be a bit tricky.

What do I miss / wrong ? Any brand recommendtations ?