Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • I've had surprisingly good results using ~4 lengths of reusable velcro cable straps to force the tyre to stay in the valley and then hold it there while I work around the tyre
    – Criggie
    Commented Nov 3, 2021 at 22:10
  • @Nathan Knutson Hi! Yes the tyre / rim combination is way less than ideal. One might also suggest that the tyre is dangerously too narrow. I'm not sure if you have worked with the tanwall Corsas before, but the properties are way different from other full rubber tyres. The way the tread folds in, the stretch of the cotton sidewalls, the rigidity of the tyre bead. I don't think I'm quite a noob in working with tyres, sad to say the tips you mentioned here are not new to me.
    – Yuxuan
    Commented Nov 4, 2021 at 3:08
  • 1
    @Criggie Alright I'll try with velcro + cable ties + whatever I can use to strap on the tyre. Fingers crossed! -Sam Yes it's possible. Plus my rim is quite deep so it'll be near impossible for the valve to bend!
    – Yuxuan
    Commented Nov 4, 2021 at 3:13
  • 1
    Since it's cotton you could try seeing if you can mount it successfully on another wheel or rim, like an older non-tubeless one, then let it sit at max pressure for a few days on that. It won't hurt and might help. Commented Nov 4, 2021 at 16:54
  • 1
    If Nathan's final suggestion doesn't work you might have to give up on either these tyres or these rims. I'm thinking about how much fun a puncture will be when you're 30 miles from home. There's alot to be said for a tyre/rim combination that plays well together.
    – Noise
    Commented Nov 4, 2021 at 16:56