Skip to main content
added 170 characters in body
Source Link

I am not a bike expert, however I enjoy working on modern single speeds and beach cruisers, and learning as much as I can along the way. I have tried to teach myself, via the internet and by asking around at a few local bike shops, about this 1976 Sears Roebuck bicycle that I have, but I have not had much luck. I have never had a bike this old. Not knowing if this bike is complete, I have had trouble finding out which parts might be missing. Nonetheless, this is an incredible bike and I am eager to keep it in riding shape. I am open minded and truly appreciate all information and advice that you have to offer. Thanks!

This headset would get stuck when I would take turns from time to time but would always free itself back up naturally. Most recently, I took a turn and as the headset became stuck, several of the ball bearings (5/32 x 14B) from the lower headset became free and flew onto the street. Back home I disassembled the headset to find the ring, that holds the ball bearings, was torn up and some of the ball bearings were missing. Upon further inspection, I began to consider that some of the pieces from the headset were missing, meaning that I have been riding with an incomplete headset since I acquired the bike. This might explain two things: (1) that's the reason why the headset has been sticking? (2) that is why the ball bearing ring became destroyed?

Moving forward, I am seeking to get a new complete 1" threaded standard bicycle headset that would fit this bike. I am hoping this will fix the problem I have been dealing with. Are parts like these still available for this setup? If so, is one manufacturer better than another? And where is my best bet to look?

Sears Roebuck 1976 enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here

I am not a bike expert, however I enjoy working on modern single speeds and beach cruisers, and learning as much as I can along the way. I have tried to teach myself, via the internet and by asking around at a few local bike shops, about this 1976 Sears Roebuck bicycle that I have, but I have not had much luck. I have never had a bike this old. Not knowing if this bike is complete, I have had trouble finding out which parts might be missing. Nonetheless, this is an incredible bike and I am eager to keep it in riding shape. I am open minded and truly appreciate all information and advice that you have to offer. Thanks!

This headset would get stuck when I would take turns from time to time but would always free itself back up naturally. Most recently, I took a turn and as the headset became stuck, several of the ball bearings (5/32 x 14B) from the lower headset became free and flew onto the street. Back home I disassembled the headset to find the ring, that holds the ball bearings, was torn up and some of the ball bearings were missing. Upon further inspection, I began to consider that some of the pieces from the headset were missing, meaning that I have been riding with an incomplete headset since I acquired the bike. This might explain two things: (1) that's the reason why the headset has been sticking? (2) that is why the ball bearing ring became destroyed?

Moving forward, I am seeking to get a new complete 1" threaded standard bicycle headset that would fit this bike. I am hoping this will fix the problem I have been dealing with. Are parts like these still available for this setup? If so, is one manufacturer better than another? And where is my best bet to look?

Sears Roebuck 1976 enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here

I am not a bike expert, however I enjoy working on modern single speeds and beach cruisers, and learning as much as I can along the way. I have tried to teach myself, via the internet and by asking around at a few local bike shops, about this 1976 Sears Roebuck bicycle that I have, but I have not had much luck. I have never had a bike this old. Not knowing if this bike is complete, I have had trouble finding out which parts might be missing. Nonetheless, this is an incredible bike and I am eager to keep it in riding shape. I am open minded and truly appreciate all information and advice that you have to offer. Thanks!

This headset would get stuck when I would take turns from time to time but would always free itself back up naturally. Most recently, I took a turn and as the headset became stuck, several of the ball bearings (5/32 x 14B) from the lower headset became free and flew onto the street. Back home I disassembled the headset to find the ring, that holds the ball bearings, was torn up and some of the ball bearings were missing. Upon further inspection, I began to consider that some of the pieces from the headset were missing, meaning that I have been riding with an incomplete headset since I acquired the bike. This might explain two things: (1) that's the reason why the headset has been sticking? (2) that is why the ball bearing ring became destroyed?

Moving forward, I am seeking to get a new complete 1" threaded standard bicycle headset that would fit this bike. I am hoping this will fix the problem I have been dealing with. Are parts like these still available for this setup? If so, is one manufacturer better than another? And where is my best bet to look?

Sears Roebuck 1976 enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here

added 255 characters in body
Source Link

I am not a bike expert, however I enjoy working on modern single speeds and beach cruisers, and learning as much as I can along the way. I have tried to teach myself, via the internet and by asking around at a few local bike shops, about this 1976 Sears Roebuck bicycle that I have, but I have not had much luck. I have never had a bike this old. Not knowing if this bike is complete, I have had trouble finding out which parts might be missing. Nonetheless, this is an incredible bike and I am eager to keep it in riding shape. I am open minded and truly appreciate all information and advice that you have to offer. Thanks!

This headset would get stuck when I would take turns from time to time but would always free itself back up naturally. Most recently, I took a turn and as the headset became stuck, several of the ball bearings (5/32 x 14B) from the lower headset became free and flew onto the street. Back home I disassembled the headset to find the ring, that holds the ball bearings, was torn up and some of the ball bearings were missing. Upon further inspection, I began to consider that some of the pieces from the headset were missing, meaning that I have been riding with an incomplete headset since I acquired the bike. This might explain two things: (1) that's the reason why the headset has been sticking? (2) that is why the ball bearing ring became destroyed?

Moving forward, I am seeking to get a new complete 1" threaded standard bicycle headset that would fit this bike. I am hoping this will fix the problem I have been dealing with. Are parts like these still available for this setup? If so, is one manufacturer better than another? And where is my best bet to look?

Sears Roebuck 1976 enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here

I am not a bike expert, however I enjoy working on modern single speeds and beach cruisers, and learning as much as I can along the way. I have tried to teach myself, via the internet and by asking around at a few local bike shops, about this 1976 Sears Roebuck bicycle that I have, but I have not had much luck. I have never had a bike this old. Not knowing if this bike is complete, I have had trouble finding out which parts might be missing. Nonetheless, this is an incredible bike and I am eager to keep it in riding shape. I am open minded and truly appreciate all information and advice that you have to offer. Thanks!

This headset would get stuck when I would take turns from time to time but would always free itself back up naturally. Most recently, I took a turn and as the headset became stuck, several of the ball bearings (5/32 x 14B) from the lower headset became free and flew onto the street. Back home I disassembled the headset to find the ring, that holds the ball bearings, was torn up and some of the ball bearings were missing. Upon further inspection, I began to consider that some of the pieces from the headset were missing, meaning that I have been riding with an incomplete headset since I acquired the bike. This might explain two things: (1) that's the reason why the headset has been sticking? (2) that is why the ball bearing ring became destroyed?

Moving forward, I am seeking to get a new complete 1" threaded standard bicycle headset that would fit this bike. I am hoping this will fix the problem I have been dealing with. Are parts like these still available for this setup? If so, is one manufacturer better than another? And where is my best bet to look?

Sears Roebuck 1976

I am not a bike expert, however I enjoy working on modern single speeds and beach cruisers, and learning as much as I can along the way. I have tried to teach myself, via the internet and by asking around at a few local bike shops, about this 1976 Sears Roebuck bicycle that I have, but I have not had much luck. I have never had a bike this old. Not knowing if this bike is complete, I have had trouble finding out which parts might be missing. Nonetheless, this is an incredible bike and I am eager to keep it in riding shape. I am open minded and truly appreciate all information and advice that you have to offer. Thanks!

This headset would get stuck when I would take turns from time to time but would always free itself back up naturally. Most recently, I took a turn and as the headset became stuck, several of the ball bearings (5/32 x 14B) from the lower headset became free and flew onto the street. Back home I disassembled the headset to find the ring, that holds the ball bearings, was torn up and some of the ball bearings were missing. Upon further inspection, I began to consider that some of the pieces from the headset were missing, meaning that I have been riding with an incomplete headset since I acquired the bike. This might explain two things: (1) that's the reason why the headset has been sticking? (2) that is why the ball bearing ring became destroyed?

Moving forward, I am seeking to get a new complete 1" threaded standard bicycle headset that would fit this bike. I am hoping this will fix the problem I have been dealing with. Are parts like these still available for this setup? If so, is one manufacturer better than another? And where is my best bet to look?

Sears Roebuck 1976 enter image description here enter image description here enter image description here

Tweeted twitter.com/StackBicycles/status/1407760378810015749
Source Link

Headset replacement for 1976 Sears Roebuck

I am not a bike expert, however I enjoy working on modern single speeds and beach cruisers, and learning as much as I can along the way. I have tried to teach myself, via the internet and by asking around at a few local bike shops, about this 1976 Sears Roebuck bicycle that I have, but I have not had much luck. I have never had a bike this old. Not knowing if this bike is complete, I have had trouble finding out which parts might be missing. Nonetheless, this is an incredible bike and I am eager to keep it in riding shape. I am open minded and truly appreciate all information and advice that you have to offer. Thanks!

This headset would get stuck when I would take turns from time to time but would always free itself back up naturally. Most recently, I took a turn and as the headset became stuck, several of the ball bearings (5/32 x 14B) from the lower headset became free and flew onto the street. Back home I disassembled the headset to find the ring, that holds the ball bearings, was torn up and some of the ball bearings were missing. Upon further inspection, I began to consider that some of the pieces from the headset were missing, meaning that I have been riding with an incomplete headset since I acquired the bike. This might explain two things: (1) that's the reason why the headset has been sticking? (2) that is why the ball bearing ring became destroyed?

Moving forward, I am seeking to get a new complete 1" threaded standard bicycle headset that would fit this bike. I am hoping this will fix the problem I have been dealing with. Are parts like these still available for this setup? If so, is one manufacturer better than another? And where is my best bet to look?

Sears Roebuck 1976