Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 23, 2021 at 15:50 history edited love2phish CC BY-SA 4.0
added 6 characters in body
Jan 23, 2021 at 15:42 comment added love2phish @Mick OH! Ok...I believe the little leak is normal when overfilled. Just make sure you brakes don't randomly feel spongy after the "squirt".
Jan 23, 2021 at 15:40 comment added love2phish @Swifty Yeah, couldn't find the exact patent. It was not super easy to find their patents due to Shimano being a Japanese company. I will keep looking though. I want to see exactly what is inside this brake lever without taking one apart. One can always rely on patents schematics for that sort of thing, unless you can find some sort of teardown vid.
Jan 23, 2021 at 15:37 comment added Mick I have found out that the cap actually could be removed and diaphragm reset on older models of Shimano MTB brakes, but it does not seem to be the case with the newest models. I gave the link to this info in the comment to MaplePanda's answer. By the way, my brake works just fine despite the leak. The leak is just a squirt that happens when I overfill the brake during bleeding, and does not occur later, during use. However I can imagine that it could be a more serious problem for some people, if the membrane was damaged or if it moved more than mine.
Jan 23, 2021 at 13:41 comment added Swifty seems to be the patent for SRAM's version of Shimano's J-kit where the lever and hose can be shipped pre-bled but disconnected. The mention of a 'port' I read was to to with a port valve at the interface of hose and lever where it is closed until the two are mated when it opens automagically. but I didn't read it all and don't have the answer, I'm intrigued to know
Jan 22, 2021 at 21:41 history edited love2phish CC BY-SA 4.0
added 261 characters in body
Jan 22, 2021 at 21:37 comment added love2phish Found this: patents.google.com/patent/US20180056967A1/en I have looked through it and kind-of/sort-of gives you an idea what could go wrong.
Jan 22, 2021 at 21:24 comment added love2phish The hole is normal and should be found on all models of this type. Obviously it should not leak a lot. I can only assume the hole is strategic so that if one was to overfill, the extra would just flow out the extra hole. Don't take my word for granted though, still have some research to do!
Jan 22, 2021 at 21:21 history edited love2phish CC BY-SA 4.0
added 93 characters in body
Jan 22, 2021 at 21:15 comment added Swifty interesting, is the membrane covered hole there just from machining the part?
Jan 22, 2021 at 21:08 history answered love2phish CC BY-SA 4.0