Skip to main content
4 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jan 9, 2021 at 14:46 comment added Judy N. @Jay it's definitely your legs. Cycling uses very specific muscles groups that you have had no cause to develop condition in – e.g. running won't develop these muslce groups in the range/direction of motion used for cycling. They're simply getting exhausted by having to exert continuous effort. Of course if you keep at it they will develop that condition.
Jan 8, 2021 at 7:40 comment added rclocher3 When my legs get tired, especially when I've been going up a mountain for a while, I sometimes think that I must have a tire going flat, because it feels like the problem is the bike. But the tires are almost always fine, and the problem is almost always my tired legs.
Jan 8, 2021 at 2:35 comment added julian It's kind of hard to tell because I guess I'm comparing it to running. If I start running, I'll get to the point where I have to stop because I'm out of breath. When on the bike and get tired, however, it doesn't feel like I'm out of breath and gasping for air. My legs just can't pedal any more and the pedals feel resistant. After stopping for a bit and then getting back on the bike, it's zippy again until the process repeats. The bike with a free wheel "cog" which I screwed on to the other side of the wheel and use instead of the fixed gear side. The pedals don't move when the bike is coasts.
Jan 8, 2021 at 2:02 history answered Adam Rice CC BY-SA 4.0