Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 18, 2020 at 1:04 comment added Aganju WD40 is a ‘Water Deterrent’, the 40th try, as the name sats; developed in WW 2 to avoid tanks rusting. It’s not a degreaser. However, my experience is that it works great as lubricant too.
Nov 17, 2020 at 22:06 comment added Daniel R Hicks @bradly - WD40 is a reasonably good degreaser, and reasonably cheap and convenient. It certainly should not be used in place of a bike lube, though.
Nov 16, 2020 at 18:40 comment added bradly I can imagine using it as a de greaser, but I've tried it on my chain and within minutes of riding I could hear my chain. If you can hear your chain it could be lubricated better. People can do whatever they think works best for their bike, but I personally steer away from smelly chemicals like WD40
Nov 15, 2020 at 15:50 comment added Vladimir F Героям слава @bradly WD40 works well on a bicycle. And even on a chain for some. As a degreaser it works very well, it also keeps shifters and brake calipers moving and prevent rust by dispacing water after washing.
Nov 14, 2020 at 17:00 comment added bradly not the pressure spraying, that is a great idea, but I will tar and feather you for using WD40 on your bike. It must be the worst "lubricant" on earth. In fact, it's not a lubricant I am surprised anyone still uses WD40 when there are thousands of superior products that aren't corrosive and actually provide lubrication.
Nov 14, 2020 at 13:01 comment added Daniel R Hicks Yeah, the problem with pressure washers (or simply using a hose) is that, unless used with care, they are apt to force water into the bearings. This has caused the death of many bicycles.
Nov 14, 2020 at 5:29 comment added An Ant No , no mister. Nothing wrong with power-washing bikes, especially as long as you don't target the BB. Pro mechanics do it, Mavic neutral service does it, GCN and many other people have tested it, on modern systems, it's not bad. Only people crying at hearing this are likely amateurs or YouTubers, real pros barely have time to bother about how their bike is cleaned. My problem of course, is that I have no way to power wash my bike, and just use one of those pressure-spray bottles to spray wate, thus reaching not much pressure but just enough to rinse off degreaser.
Nov 14, 2020 at 2:49 history answered Aganju CC BY-SA 4.0