Skip to main content
Simplified the grammar a bit
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31

Note, this is just one solution I thought about after posting the OP, this is still only a concept so I would love all opinions/suggestions in comments.

Attach a massive hood to my back

This is something I only thought about this a few days after first posting the question. I was inspired by this product: the. The photo below is taken from the product website and I can't help the impression it was just photoshopped to make it look like there's a cover on the child. Anyway, the idea I got from it is shown in the second, annotated version further down. My thinking is:

  • "extend" the back of the seat upwards with an arch from a material like that used for child bike flags (what sort of plastic and diameter do I want to form an arch of ca. 500mm diameter?)
  • slide the big plastic cover over that arch
  • attach two elastic bands to my shoulders (perhaps to the straps of an empty rucksack), and use that to keep the cover extended That way I don't need to place anything rigid between me and my child. Naturally I could probably do it with any large sheet of PVC, no need to order a pricey one from a shop I never heard about.

That way I don't need to place anything rigid between me and my child.

Naturally I could probably do it with any large sheet of PVC, no need to order a pricey one from a shop I never heard about.

enter image description here enter image description here

Note, this is just one solution I thought about after posting the OP, this is still only a concept so I would love all opinions/suggestions in comments.

Attach a massive hood to my back

This is something I only thought about a few days after first posting the question. I was inspired by this product: the photo below is taken from the product website and I can't help the impression it was just photoshopped to make it look like there's a cover on the child. Anyway, the idea I got from it is shown in the second, annotated version further down. My thinking is:

  • "extend" the back of the seat upwards with an arch from a material like that used for child bike flags (what sort of plastic and diameter do I want to form an arch of ca. 500mm diameter?)
  • slide the big plastic cover over that arch
  • attach two elastic bands to my shoulders (perhaps to the straps of an empty rucksack), and use that to keep the cover extended That way I don't need to place anything rigid between me and my child. Naturally I could probably do it with any large sheet of PVC, no need to order a pricey one from a shop I never heard about.

enter image description here enter image description here

Note, this is just one solution I thought about after posting the OP, this is still only a concept so I would love all opinions/suggestions in comments.

Attach a massive hood to my back

I only thought about this a few days after first posting the question. I was inspired by this product. The photo below is taken from the product website and I can't help the impression it was just photoshopped to make it look like there's a cover on the child. Anyway, the idea I got from it is shown in the second, annotated version further down. My thinking is:

  • "extend" the back of the seat upwards with an arch from a material like that used for child bike flags (what sort of plastic and diameter do I want to form an arch of ca. 500mm diameter?)
  • slide the big plastic cover over that arch
  • attach two elastic bands to my shoulders (perhaps to the straps of an empty rucksack), and use that to keep the cover extended

That way I don't need to place anything rigid between me and my child.

Naturally I could probably do it with any large sheet of PVC, no need to order a pricey one from a shop I never heard about.

enter image description here enter image description here

Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31

Note, this is just one solution I thought about after posting the OP, this is still only a concept so I would love all opinions/suggestions in comments.

Attach a massive hood to my back

This is something I only thought about a few days after first posting the question. I was inspired by this product: the photo below is taken from the product website and I can't help the impression it was just photoshopped to make it look like there's a cover on the child. Anyway, the idea I got from it is shown in the second, annotated version further down. My thinking is:

  • "extend" the back of the seat upwards with an arch from a material like that used for child bike flags (what sort of plastic and diameter do I want to form an arch of ca. 500mm diameter?)
  • slide the big plastic cover over that arch
  • attach two elastic bands to my shoulders (perhaps to the straps of an empty rucksack), and use that to keep the cover extended That way I don't need to place anything rigid between me and my child. Naturally I could probably do it with any large sheet of PVC, no need to order a pricey one from a shop I never heard about.

enter image description here enter image description here