Skip to main content
16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 8, 2020 at 23:49 history edited MaplePanda CC BY-SA 4.0
Fixed another section I forgot about.
Nov 8, 2020 at 21:51 comment added MaplePanda @ojs I agree, I exaggerated a bit. The scare story was there to encourage OP to not push their luck. It’s easy to overestimate one’s riding skills and believe that they’re invulnerable to blowouts, or that they’ll easily handle one when it does happen. Just replace the damn tire and all will be good.
Nov 8, 2020 at 21:08 comment added ojs @MaplePanda so you know that tires don't explode violently and you don't crash immediately when they lose pressure. Why did you make up the scare story?
Nov 8, 2020 at 18:56 comment added MaplePanda @ojs All that goes to say that you are right, I’ve never had an instant blowout myself. I just feel the rear end of the bike feel softer and softer, until I hear/feel the rim bottoming out on bumps and whatnot.
Nov 8, 2020 at 18:47 history edited MaplePanda CC BY-SA 4.0
Changed the wording to be less dogmatic.
Nov 8, 2020 at 18:42 comment added MaplePanda Alright, I’ll edit the part about certainly crashing. I will leave the part about certainly wearing the tire out though. It’s not like you can rub the tire with magic serum and seductively whisper a few loving words to restore it back to its original condition.
Nov 8, 2020 at 9:22 comment added Chris H I agree with @mattnz. I've had 2 blowouts, including one on the front, and a couple of instant punctures. I've never come off as a result.
Nov 8, 2020 at 9:21 comment added ojs Judging by this answer it is unclear if the poster has ever punctured a tire while riding.
Nov 8, 2020 at 8:52 comment added mattnz All I am asking is you tone down the dogma and ensure your answer is factually correct. If we allow assertions of fact to go unchallenged without reference, then we become just another "Yahoo answers" with the same credibility problem, just add the word 'likely'.
Nov 8, 2020 at 7:11 history edited MaplePanda CC BY-SA 4.0
Added some info about how tires work.
Nov 8, 2020 at 7:05 comment added MaplePanda @mattnz I chose that wording to discourage OP from trying to push it. Inevitably, if you keep riding a tire in that condition, it WILL indeed blow - you’ll simply have no tire left. Controlling a blowout is extremely difficult, and it would be extremely foolish to rely on whatever slim chance of controlling the bike you would have. Beware of the Dunning-Kruger effect.
Nov 8, 2020 at 3:37 comment added Criggie I had a tyre this badly worn but was late for work and it looked "passable" so rode it anyway. At work the tube was herniating out though the tyre. You can't ride on your tube at all!
Nov 8, 2020 at 2:48 comment added mattnz -1: There is no way you can know for certain the tire WILL explode and the OP WILL loose control and then crash. Replacing those statements of certainty with statements of possibility would make this a reasonable answer. ('WILL' is reserved for paying taxes and dieing)
Nov 8, 2020 at 2:39 comment added A. Jahin Will replace the tire as soon as possible. I have been using this bike for commuting for more than two years. Only a few months ago had I started going on long rides for fun. I bought the bike used though, so I can't be responsible for all the worn. Thanks, though :D Looking forward to worn out the new set of tires.
Nov 8, 2020 at 2:29 vote accept A. Jahin
Nov 8, 2020 at 1:38 history answered MaplePanda CC BY-SA 4.0