Skip to main content
Notice removed Reward existing answer by Criggie
Bounty Ended with Drowning_im's answer chosen by Criggie
Notice added Reward existing answer by Criggie
Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by Criggie
Added entanglement to factors to consider
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face), entanglement ...

Why not a trailerOptions discarded

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

My child is too big for a Thule RideAlong Mini Windscreen - it's a product intended for a seat for smaller children, sat between the rider's arms.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face), entanglement ...

Why not a trailer

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face), entanglement ...

Options discarded

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

My child is too big for a Thule RideAlong Mini Windscreen - it's a product intended for a seat for smaller children, sat between the rider's arms.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

Added entanglement to factors to consider
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31

How Child seat: how to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat?

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face), entanglement ...

Why not a trailer

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

How to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat?

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face) ...

Why not a trailer

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

Child seat: how to protect my child's face from rain and wind?

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face), entanglement ...

Why not a trailer

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

Acknowledging the factors I need to balance
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face) ...

Why not a trailer

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

I edited this question more than any of my questions before, please feel free to view old versions. The overhaul of the question was approved in principle by a moderator. I did also add an answer with one other solution I thought about, but that is still only a concept and I would love some opinions.

Objective

I am looking for a way to protect my child's face from rain and wind while in a child bike seat. I'm not a scientist but she gets cold easily and my parental instinct is that even partial cover/protection of the face would reduce wind-chill noticeably. It's for getting my child to school, just a steady 15-20 minute ride but we live in England.

There seem to be no purpose-made products readily available on the market (except from an amazon seller who doesn't look trustworthy). And product recommendation is, controversially to say the least, not allowed on stack exchange (but I'd love a link if they exist).

First thing I could think of

Convert a Rain cover from a "rucksack" child carrier to attach it to a bike seat

enter image description hereenter image description here

Has anyone ever done this? I would like to minimize damage/modification to either product. How can I attach one to another? Do I need to 3d print some fittings?

Factors I need to balance

Usability, breathability, crashworthiness, constructability, wind resistance (from being blown away or into child's face) ...

Why not a trailer

Naturally one way would be to use a trailer but I am very reluctant to do this:

  • I don't really have room to store it,
  • there are chicanes on our route to deter mopeds/motorcycles etc.

Any other alternative ideas will be welcome.

Big overhaul: asking "for a solution to the actual problem" - as opposed to "for opinions on one solution I came up with"
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31
Loading
Justification why I'm keen to cover/protect the face
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31
Loading
Tweeted twitter.com/StackBicycles/status/1325362455447560194
Became Hot Network Question
edited title
Link
Argenti Apparatus
  • 75.8k
  • 4
  • 86
  • 189
Loading
Clarified that the main objective is to protect the child's face
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31
Loading
Source Link
pateksan
  • 2.4k
  • 14
  • 31
Loading