Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • Are you looking for a straight handlebar or drop bar bike? Do you like a long low position or more upright? There’s a reason there’s no simple answer.
    – Andrew
    Commented Jul 2, 2020 at 18:41
  • 1
    I came across a bike fit calculator earlier this year, before I bought my first road bike (ever). Rode it on a trainer for a while and more recently have done a few hundred km on it, so far so good! competitivecyclist.com/Store/catalog/fitCalculatorBike.jsp With this calculator, you measure pretty much everything, so it seems to be using a bit more elaborate math, but in the end it gave me 54cm frame, which I was also getting with simpler sizing guides.
    – user39927
    Commented Jul 2, 2020 at 19:27
  • @gaston thanks but outside the US, it redirects to another site saying something about GDPR. It's interesting that it ended up giving you a 54cm frame, which the old TT measurement that's supposed to be defunct because of modern frame designs. It strikes me that I need to wait 10 years until people have updated calculators and sales brochures and eradicated the old TT measurement from their heads. I'll just place my chips on 54cm like everyone else and yawn disdainfully next time someone talks about stack and reach. Commented Jul 6, 2020 at 20:37