Skip to main content
6 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 3, 2020 at 19:42 comment added BetterSense I use hot wax on all chains and they stay pretty clean. I can literally grab my chain with my hand and my hand stays clean (mostly single-speed road bikes FWIW). To clean chains from the factory I put them in a Ziplock quart-size freezer bag with perchloroethylene or acetone, or both in that order, and shake them. Previously I had a metal paint can of perchloroethylene that I used. Once the chain is totally clean and dry I do hot wax and never mess with it again until it breaks.
Mar 30, 2020 at 22:07 comment added Criggie @swifty well I cooked up 4 chains in 1 kg of wax, and almost all of that is still in the pot ready for next time. I'm aiming to re-wax twice a year, so this block should last me decades. Also, Mikes' answer covers nicely the cause and composition of the filthy mess, there's nothing to add to that good answer.
Mar 30, 2020 at 22:06 comment added Criggie @WeiwenNg For a brand new chain, I was lazy and just put them straight in the wax bath. The manufacturing protectant seems to be a wax, which was compatible. If its an old chain with oil on it, then a serious clean with degreaser, or solvent would be required. In that case the old oil has to come off completely.
Mar 30, 2020 at 17:56 comment added Weiwen Ng Can you comment how thoroughly one has to degrease the chain? The Molten Speed Wax and Friction Facts sites make it sound like you need petroleum-based solvents to get the chain clean enough (e.g. methylated spirits), followed by alcohol to dissolve the leftover petroleum film after that. I wonder if consumers can get sufficient results just using citrus-based degreasers (e.g. Simple Green or many bike-specific degreasers), or even dish soap.
Mar 30, 2020 at 15:10 comment added Swifty Don't know who downvoted, meh - whilst it skips over the first part of the question it answers the important second part in a very solutions-focused manner (is that a thing? feel like I made it up). but also, the "20% of it so far" could be qualified by a timescale, weeks, years?
Mar 29, 2020 at 20:54 history answered Criggie CC BY-SA 4.0